RSS

Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #33

20 Aug
The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

The Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge is hosted by Alyson over at Kid Lit Frenzy.

Make sure to read yesterday’s post for reviews on:

The Slug by Elise Gravel [***]

The Slug by Elise Gravel [***]


A disgusting yet delightful discovery, Elise Gravel’s Disgusting Critters series introduces beginning readers to facts regarding certain familiar creatures. The humor and illustrations will appeal to kids and will want them to read more. Addicting for adults as well!

I know I used the same review for all the books in the series but they’re all good!

The Scraps Book: Notes from a Colorful Life by Lois Ehlert [***]

The Scraps Book: Notes from a Colorful Life by Lois Ehlert [***]


This was a fascinating glimpse into the inner workings of a celebrated artist known for her mostly collage style illustrations. A quick read but it sill manages to be both informative and inspiring. I loved how she introduced a few activities throughout!

 

5 responses to “Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday #33

  1. Holly Mueller

    August 20, 2014 at 4:16 pm

    I LOVED The Scraps Books and went out to buy it immediately after discovering it at the library. The Slug looks really funny. :-)

     
  2. Linda Baie

    August 20, 2014 at 4:49 pm

    Like Holly, I loved The Scraps Book, and I feel like I’m the only one who hasn’t reviewed the books about The Slug, et al! I need to find them! Also thanks for the reviews yesterday, just read them & love both ideas. Jeannette Winter does such wonderful books! Thanks, Earl!

     
  3. carriegelson

    August 20, 2014 at 10:54 pm

    Oh dear – The Slug title is out . . . I can’t resist these books! They are just fantastic.

     
  4. Myra GB

    August 22, 2014 at 7:01 pm

    Scraps book looks great. I used to keep a scrapbook once upon a time, I’m sure it would inspire me to pick up the habit again. Will check out the PBB by Jeanette Winter.

     
  5. Michele

    August 24, 2014 at 9:56 am

    I’m really interested in Mr. Cornell’s Dream Boxes, but the library doesn’t have it yet. I’ll have to keep checking back! Our school library ordered The Scraps Book, I can’t wait to use it with students this year!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 373 other followers

