RSS

Celebrate This Week- August 23, 2014

23 Aug
Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

Thanks to Ruth Ayers of Discover. Play. Build. for creating this meme!

This week I’m celebrating educators- teachers, librarians, and school counselors. I love it anytime they go to our store and seek books to reach out to kids. Or to help the kids feel less alone in their situations. Or to just pass on the love of reading and the wonder of books to a new generation.

I am in constant amazement by their drive and their dedication.

Earlier this week, we held our annual Educator Night at work. We talked about some of the books released the past year that we think would be great for schools and classrooms.

Here are the books I talked about: (Click on the covers for my reviews!)

A Library Book for Bear by Bonny Becker, Illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton [**]

A Library Book for Bear by Bonny Becker, Illustrated by Kady MacDonald Denton [**]

Little Red Writing by Joan Holub. Illustrated by Melissa Sweet [***]

Little Red Writing
by Joan Holub. Illustrated by Melissa Sweet [***]

 The Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry by Peter Sís [***]

The Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry by Peter Sís [***]

Comics Squad: Recess! By Various [***]

Comics Squad: Recess! By Various [***]

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff [*****]

Absolutely Almost by Lisa Graff [*****]

The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson [***]

The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson [***]


I was prepared to dislike this book. I tweeted, “I hope the book I’m reading gets better soon. The good news is I may have found a solution to my insomnia.” Propping up the main character to be this super cool and smart kid right off the bat was annoying, especially since there weren’t any indicators as to why we would think that. But, once the set-up was done, the story really picked up. I can see why kids would enjoy this caper novel- lots of action, relatable situations, fun dialogue, and a diverse cast of characters. The end makes you want more!

What are you celebrating this week?

 

6 responses to “Celebrate This Week- August 23, 2014

  1. Crystal

    August 23, 2014 at 9:42 am

    I loved your review of Absolutely Almost. I have ordered it, but haven’t read it yet. I like how you said we aren’t perfect, but we are trying our darndest. :) That about sums up my life. We are trying so hard, but we need to be gentle with ourselves and remember that we don’t need to be perfect. Thanks for sharing your celebrations.

     
  2. Linda Baie

    August 23, 2014 at 10:46 am

    I know every book, Earl, but still need to read the one about Saint-Exupéry. What a great list of books. I really loved Absolutely Almost and A Library Book for Bear, have one teacher choosing to read the Absolutely Almost as his first read aloud. Your educator night must have been fabulous! Thanks for sharing your part!

     
  3. Elisabeth Ellington

    August 23, 2014 at 11:58 am

    So glad you shared all of these books! I’m ordering Absolutely Almost for my sons’ teachers. Hoping they’ll read it aloud this year.

     
  4. macrush53

    August 23, 2014 at 3:40 pm

    What a great list of books. And thank you for celebrating librarians and teachers.

     
  5. cvarsalona

    August 23, 2014 at 6:29 pm

    Your blog was filled with new titles for me. I am intrigued by the Little Red Writing. That may be a perfect book for my reflective writing workshop. Let me know if you think it would be a good choice and if teachers would like it read aloud (cvarsalona@gmail.com or @cvarsalona). Thank you.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 363 other followers

