RSS

What Are You Reading? (109) #IMWAYR – August 24, 2014

24 Aug
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:

-#NFPB2014 New Releases: Read my reviews for


-Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge Wednesday: Read my reviews for:

-Celebrate This Week- This week I’m celebrating educators- teachers, librarians, and school counselors. Read my review for:
The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson [***]

The Great Greene Heist by Varian Johnson [***]


I really enjoy these board books.And I thought it was really smart of them to release these two titles together.

Blue Chicken by Deborah Freedman [**]- Fun and cute picture book about  a well-intentioned chicken who accidentally spills ink all over the place. Very creative!

Blue Chicken by Deborah Freedman [**]- Fun and cute picture book about a well-intentioned chicken who accidentally spills ink all over the place. Very creative!

The Little Bear Book by Anthony Browne [**]- Another cute picture book about creativity! The titular bear meets some animals on his forest walk and uses his magic pencil to draw what they need.

The Little Bear Book by Anthony Browne [**]- Another cute picture book about creativity! The titular bear meets some animals on his forest walk and uses his magic pencil to draw what they need.

Ladybug Girl and the Dress-up Dilemma by David Soman and Jacky Davis [***]-I didn't even realize there was going to be a new Ladybug Girl! I can't wait to recommend this book for its strong message of being true to oneself!

Ladybug Girl and the Dress-up Dilemma by David Soman and Jacky Davis [***]-I didn’t even realize there was going to be a new Ladybug Girl! I can’t wait to recommend this book for its strong message of being true to oneself!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor [****]- High fantasy and high romance set the tone in this original YA novel. Worlds are at war between angels and chimera- and it's up to blue-haired art student Karou to put an end to it or perish. Lyrical prose and unforgettable characters will make this book unputdownable and readers rushing to read the next books in the series!

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor [****]- High fantasy and high romance set the tone in this original YA novel. Worlds are at war between angels and chimera- and it’s up to blue-haired art student Karou to put an end to it or perish. Lyrical prose and unforgettable characters will make this book unputdownable and readers rushing to read the next books in the series!


This is part of my Must-Read Challenge!

Expect reviews for these books during Tuesday’s New Releases post:

Expect reviews for these books during Wednesday’s Nonfiction Picture Book Challenge post:

A Rock Is Lively by Dianna Hutts Aston, Illustrated by Sylvia Long [***]

A Rock Is Lively by Dianna Hutts Aston, Illustrated by Sylvia Long [***]

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I need to finish Wings of Fire #1: The Dragonet Prophecy by Tui T. Sutherland by next Wednesday’s Family Book Club.

Have a great reading week!

 

11 responses to “What Are You Reading? (109) #IMWAYR – August 24, 2014

  1. Linda Baie

    August 25, 2014 at 6:00 am

    Daughter of Smoke and Bone has been on my list for a long time, and now it’s probably time to find it and read it! Thanks for the little picture book sharing too. The Little Bear Book looks very cute, Earl. Have a great week!

     
  2. Elisabeth Ellington

    August 25, 2014 at 8:56 am

    Daughter of Smoke & Bone was excellent on audio! I am waiting to get Book 2 on audio before I continue with the series, though I’ve had to purchase the whole series in hard cover for my husband, who is rereading Book 2 right now before he starts Book 3! I love Blue Chicken–such clever illustrations and I imagine it was quite hard to get the pictures to look right.

     
    • bluestockingthinking

      August 26, 2014 at 4:17 am

      Agreed, the audio is awesome for Smoke and Bone!!

       
  3. The Styling Librarian

    August 25, 2014 at 9:00 am

    LOVED the audiobook of Daughter of Smoke and Bone… Thanks for sharing about The Little Bear Book, didn’t even know about it, grateful…

     
  4. @JuleeMurphy

    August 25, 2014 at 10:51 am

    I hear good things about The Great Greene Heist. I think I would like to purchase it. I love all bear stories so The Little Bear Book would be a top choice for me.

     
  5. Beth Shaum (@BethShaum)

    August 25, 2014 at 1:59 pm

    I absolutely loved A Rock is Lively. I want to buy a copy for one of my friends who’s an earth science teacher and loves rocks :)

    Daughter of Smoke and Bone is such an interesting, unusual read. I normally don’t like fantasy, but the setting of Prague pulled me in. I think that’s the key for me liking fantasy novels: set in a real-life place with fantasy elements peppered throughout. In fact, I’m certain that’s my preference because as soon as the story went into the fantasy world, I started to lose interest.

     
  6. Michele

    August 25, 2014 at 6:03 pm

    I have Hug and Alexander on hold at the library. Looking forward to both of them! I’m always intrigued by a book that you rate 4 or higher because I know that means it must be good!

     
  7. Greg

    August 25, 2014 at 7:34 pm

    The Great Greene Heist sounds interesting, I think I would agree about the main character but glad it got better. Nice to see the cozy versions of Tom Sawyer and Huck Finn- and Blue Chicken looks really cute as well. Nice books this week!

     
  8. Myra GB

    August 26, 2014 at 8:20 pm

    Earl! Very glad to see that Daughter of Smoke and Bone earned a 4 star from you. Wow indeed. I got myself a copy of the first book in the series, but holding off on the other titles as of the moment. But now, it looks like a definite must read for our Fantasy/Paranormal theme in November/December. Very excited to read it now. :)
    Glad to see another Anthony Browne title here – quite new, I think. Looks different from his other works.

     
  9. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 27, 2014 at 1:57 pm

    Sloth sounds very good. I need to get my hands on it :)
    I’ve had Daughter of Smoke and Bone on my home bookshelf for years. You have reminded me that I need to pick it up–thank you!

    Happy reading this week :)

     
  10. Emily Lim-Leh

    August 28, 2014 at 8:04 pm

    Blue chicken and Little Bear Book have great covers – will check these out cause I judge books by their covers!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 372 other followers

