RSS

Hello World!

01 Jan

It is my belief all writers are readers first.

My love of writing grew from my love of reading. For as long as I can remember, books were my constant companions. Words had these magical abilities to transport me to new worlds and introduce me to different people. They also opened my mind to ideas I never thought of before, made me feel for the characters and inspire me to follow my own dreams. And if stories were able to do that for me, I wanted to be able to do the same for others- to capture at least part of the magic and give back that way. Maybe my stories will have that same affect on others.

There are times (even now) when I question whether or not I really want to be a writer- if I even have what it takes. But I can’t imagine myself not writing.

I would like to be a successful published writer- to entertain people with my stories. I want to have my books on the shelves of bookstores and libraries. I want to prove that I can accomplish what I set out to do, what I’ve been talking about all these years. I want to do something I love, that challenges and rewards me.

More recently, my focus has been directed to promoting literacy in young people’s lives. I’ve found myself wanting to write for them.

It may seem strange a twenty-eight-year-old single male who can only tolerate the company of kids for a very limited amount of time would want to be a children’s book writer. But the world of children’s literature is expansive and fascinating. The effects of childhood reading are plenty and long lasting. And, again, I love books. I understand the importance of cultivating a love of reading in young people’s lives to prepare them to be lifelong readers.

Those are just some topics I want to tackle in this blog. I also want to share some of my writing and keep you posted on how I’m doing in this particular journey of mine.

Welcome to the Chronicles of a Children’s Book Writer.

 

Tags:

One response to “Hello World!

  1. liz

    January 1, 2012 at 7:45 pm

    perfection!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
