RSS

spark!

02 Apr

I’ve got to admit I’m having a hard time finding interesting things to talk about for this blog. Somehow, I thought I’d be so much more focused and creative when I started “Chronicles” but that hasn’t been the case. I’ve been feeling scatterbrained and uninspired lately.

I’m a big believer of goal setting. Currently, I’m in the middle of what I dubbed the “spark!” challenge. Why did I call it that? Spark is finding your motivation, shining a light on your interests. Spark is discovering what inspires you and being creative. Spark is doing what you love, lighting your passion. Spark is being a light to others, helping one another to achieve the dreams we set out to do. And “spark!” is one of the children’s writing projects I’m working on. Oddly enough, it’s the latter I’ve focused on the least.

With all the reading that I do– including the challenges to read all the Dr. Seuss and Caldecott-winning books- I’ve discovered a lot of great works- and words! For example, Sherman Alexie’s “The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian” has joined the ranks of my most favorite favorites!

I’ve continued to volunteer at places where they promote literacy- like the Multnomah County Library and the Children’s Book Bank. As tired as I may have been getting there (since it’s usually after a full day’s work or rather early in the morning), I always felt energized afterwards. I even stepped out of my comfort zone by volunteering at an elementary school for a Family Write Night- all those kids! There were a lot of activities centered around the Percy Jackson series (by Rick Riordan) and I was manning a table where students got to write about their favorite places. One of the moments that stood out for me was when a six-year-old boy came over with his parents. They were trying to get him to write but he was hesitant. I think he felt the frustration coming from the dad- and this was supposed to be fun! Luckily, I was able to ask the boy questions and coax him to set his answers down on paper. I know it’s not always going to be that easy but, man, I got a rush out of that!

I’m also looking forward to be part of World Book Night on April 23rd. I know they’ve been working hard to make sure the books are ready to hand out that night! So, you see, I do have “spark!” and, yet, I feel like I’m doing all those things- reading and volunteering- to avoid writing. Maybe I’m being too hard on myself but shouldn’t I have written something I can be proud of to share with anyone by now?

I know I’m coming off as whiny but I hope that anyone who’s reading this and have felt (or is feeling) the same thing can know they’re not alone. And, really, I know the solution to my trivial problem is simple: just write, stop wanting to be a writer (of children’s books or whatever kind) and just be one. I don’t even mean writing blog posts or book reviews but writing the stories I’ve always wanted to share with the world. I just need to find that particular spark. And I will.

 

Leave a Reply

 
