RSS

Drop Everything And Read

12 Apr

Today is D.E.A.R. Day!

This national celebration to “Drop Everything And Read” falls on Beverly Cleary’s birthday and it couldn’t have chosen a better spokesperson than the author’s own Ramona Quimby.

I’ve loved reading for as long as I could remember. I was fortunate enough to grow up with books. I remember owning Little Golden Books when I was a young boy in the Philippines. “Richard Scarry’s Best Storybook Ever!” was a present I got one Christmas in San Francisco. I definitely picked up a few Beverly Cleary books along the way. “The Mouse and the Motorcycle” series were my favorite.

It wasn’t at all difficult to get me to read. But, that’s not the case for a lot of people. Maybe they struggle to read. Maybe they haven’t found the right book. Maybe they don’t live in an environment where reading is encouraged.

Fortunately, there are campaigns like D.E.A.R. and Read Across America to promote reading- not just as a solitary act, but as a family, as a classroom, and as a community. Thirty minutes a day is all it takes. That’s giving up watching the episode of “Friends” you’ve seen a hundred times already in syndication. Thirty minutes a day, every day, is all it takes to be a lifelong reader.

As Ramona Quimby says, “Everyone can participate- all you need is a book!” So, anywhere, anytime, I hope you’ll Drop Everything And Read!

My birthday’s coming up. As I’ve grown older, I’ve found giving to be as enjoyable as receiving. Don’t get me wrong, I still love presents. And I love books. And I love reading. And it’s been my focus lately to promote literacy, especially in children’s lives. With this blog, I figured I can kill many birds with one stone- or tackle multiple passions with one post, to be less graphic.

All April, for every comment I receive on “The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer,” I will donate a book to The Children’s Book Bank. Since this is a new blog with very little readership (and as a thank you, really, to everyone who’s been supportive of my dreams), I’m going to include all previous comments made in the count. Already, that’s five books that will be going to students of low-income neighborhoods!

 

8 responses to “Drop Everything And Read

  1. Andee Z/Nature of a Servant

    April 12, 2012 at 7:08 am

    Hi MyNameIsEarl! I’m reading the blog, so I’m “out here” too. Great idea about donating books for your bday. I will be at CBB at the end of April with my 4th grade girl scout troop (wish us luck 🙂 ).

    Keep writing. I love the lists and challenges. And one of these days I’m sure we’ll see each other volunteering around Portland!

     
  2. starnosemole

    April 18, 2012 at 8:39 pm

    One of the things I like most about books is that there are so many different kinds out there. Each genre and/or format feels like a new adventure! I’ve recently been reading more nonfiction, and it’s been fun to learn more about social changes and the quirky characters who’ve impacted the world around us.

     
  3. JAY23

    April 18, 2012 at 10:37 pm

    love the blog of D.E.A.R …im going to encourage my kids to start reading more and maybe someday i will too

     
  4. Rose Hernandez

    April 18, 2012 at 11:10 pm

    It is a wonderful thing and an inspiration to all. Wishing you continued success and hope this encourages everyone to participate.

     
  5. Liz Dizon

    April 19, 2012 at 11:03 am

    Wow I used to read a lot as a child. One thing my Grandma ingrained in us was to read. She took us to the library weekly in Brooklyn. We loved it. I wish I could have read more as an adult. I know it’s never too late. Maybe I’ll start tonight!

     
  6. ma.isabelita l. bustos

    April 22, 2012 at 11:18 pm

    wonderful thing to encouraged people reading.

     
  7. Lauren

    April 23, 2012 at 7:30 pm

    I’m so happy you’re writing and happy.. did happy come before writing, or did writing come after happy? Either way, it’s an energizing loop you’re in – happy and writing! Thanks for being inspiring!

     
  8. Earl

    May 13, 2012 at 2:07 pm

    Thanks for being awesome people and commenting on my blog. You guys make me happy. And there’ll be 12 books donated to The Children’s Book Bank because of all of you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
