RSS

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- June 25, 2012

25 Jun

Happy Monday!

Writing a blog focusing on children’s literature isn’t exactly an original concept but that just means I’m in a large company of people who share this one passion. This community of readers is a great source of finding out great- or, not so great- books. A cool way that recommendations are getting shared is through the meme “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” started by Book Journey blogger, Sheila, and kid-lit-focus-ified by Jen and Kellee of Teach Mentor Texts. The format is simple. Review the books you’ve finished reading the prior week and share the titles of what you’re planning on reading next.

I figured I’d try it. So, here goes.

Books Read

The Rooster Crows: A Book of American Rhymes and Jingles by Maud and Miska Petersham
*Skip It* I picked “The Rooster Crows as part of my Caldecott reading challenge, popularized in the book blogging world this year by LibLaura5. This book won the medal in 1946 and I can’t really see why. Everything about it seemed “of that time” to me. It’s amazing, though, how much progress has been made in the world of children’s literature since then- in terms of subject matter, illustrations, and approaches in storytelling.

The Extraordinary Education of Nicholas Benedict by Trenton Lee Stewart
*My Pick of the Week* This is an exciting addition to the wonderful “The Mysterious Benedict Society” series! I recently wrote about Trenton Lee Stewart and his books here.

The One and Only Ivan by Katherine Applegate
*Recommended* I couldn’t help but notice all the praise coming from Misters Schu and Sharp about this book. I wanted to participate in their upcoming book club and see what others had to say so I’m glad my library came through for me once again!

“The One and Only Ivan” is something I normally wouldn’t read. Animal narrators just aren’t my thing. But I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this. First, the very sparse “The One and Only Ivan” managed to be simple but not simplistic and a good story overall.

Books I Plan on Reading This Week

The Bippollo Seed and Other Lost Stories by Dr. Seuss
The Puzzler’s Mansion by Eric Berlin

That’s all for that this week. Please visit any of the sites mentioned on this post and use them as starting points to find other blogs you may find interesting!

By the way, what are you reading?

 

6 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- June 25, 2012

  1. Lorna

    June 25, 2012 at 5:14 am

    I’m doing the Caldecott Challenge, too, and I agree with so many other contemporary nursery rhyme books out there, Rooster Crows is a skip! I just started reading the first Benedict Society with my 8 year-old, so somewhere down the road, I’ll look forward to the Trenton Stewart book. Glad to here there’s another Ivan fan in the Twitterverse! 🙂

     
  2. Kathryn

    June 25, 2012 at 1:32 pm

    I read The One and Only Ivan too because of all the hype and liked it very much. I think the animal lovers in my class will also like it very much. I am sure it will produce some interesting opinions as well.
    Happy reading
    Kathryn

     
  3. the1stdaughter

    June 25, 2012 at 4:57 pm

    After so many recommendations for The One and Only Ivan and also seeing many of the Nerdy Book Club members cheering it this weekend at ALA I think there’s no doubt I’ll be picking it up in the next week or so. It sounds amazing! And I’m SO interested to hear what you think of the Lost Dr. Seuss stories!

    Have a fabulous reading week and if you get a chance stop by There’s A Book to see what I’m up to as well. 🙂

     
  4. Maria

    June 25, 2012 at 5:52 pm

    I think I’m one of the few remaining people not to read Ivan yet. Better get on it 🙂 I like the Mysterious Benedict Society books, though. Glad to see you enjoyed!

     
  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 25, 2012 at 7:02 pm

    The One and Only Ivan is so great! You are right- it doesn’t matter if you like animal fiction or not, everyone likes it.
    Added Nicholas Benedict to my TBR- looks great 🙂

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. Earl

    June 26, 2012 at 3:14 pm

    Thanks to everyone who has visited and left a comment so far! I’m enjoying visiting your sites and am glad to be in this company!

     

Leave a Reply

 
