RSS

We Give Books

03 Jul

Read a book. Give a book.

I can’t believe I hadn’t blogged about We Give Books before! I first heard about it during last holiday season. I think books make great gifts. I’m always trying to look for ways to promote literacy by giving books to people.

We Give Books is an initiative made possible by the Penguin Group and the Pearson Foundation. The concept is simple: Read a book; give a book.

They have a growing library of children’s books to be read online. These aren’t obscure titles but books kids, parents, teachers, and caregivers would actually want to read. They have wonderful series like Anna Dewdney’s Llama Llama books (which I had read for my A to Z Picture Book Series Reading Challenge), award-winning books like Ezra Jack Keats’ The Snowy Day (which I read here for my Caldecott Reading Challenge), and practically everything in between. I even found a book I couldn’t find anywhere else- Zak the Yak by John Wood.

Once you’re done reading, each book you read is given to a campaign of your choosing. They have a variety of charities to choose from. What’s great is they have a goal for each one and show how many reading members there are and show the progress. You stick with the campaign you’ve chosen until they’ve reached their target so there’s definitely an incentive to read as much as you can!

We Give Books even has their own summer reading program- Read for My Summer. Basically, it’s a book club for kids. Every week for ten weeks, they’d choose a book and have some reading guide prompts and related activities to go along with it. There’s even a certificate of achievement to be earned. And, of course, for every book read, a book will be donated! Check out Read for My Summer because it sounds totally cool.

We Give Books is a fun, easy (and free) way to promote reading and give back at the same time!

 

Leave a Reply

 
