RSS

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- July 9, 2012

08 Jul

Teach Mentor Texts

Already, I’ve started out with a lie. It’s not really Monday. It’s a wonderful Sunday afternoon as I type this. I just finished volunteering letting kids (and adults!) know about the library’s Summer Reading program and handing out prizes.

Writing a blog focusing on children’s literature isn’t exactly an original concept but that just means I’m in a large company of people who share this one passion. This community of readers is a great source of finding out great- or, not so great- books. A cool way that recommendations are getting shared is through the meme “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” started by Book Journey blogger, Sheila, and kid-lit-focus-ified by Jen and Kellee of Teach Mentor Texts. The format is simple. Review the books you’ve finished reading the prior week and share the titles of what you’re planning on reading next.

This third week of participating in it, I’ve decided to change the format. First of all, I’m including all the books I read during the week. Second, I’ll only be using a 2-star rating instead of writing a review for each one.

Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended
+= Not a rating but I just wanted to share which books I read on We Give Books. You can read about why I think We Give Books is so great here.

Books Read

-The Seven Lady Godivas by Dr. Seuss [**- Pick of the Week] [Dr. Seuss Reading Challenge]
-One Cool Friend by Toni Buzzeo [**/+] Loved the sense of humor!
-Stolen Sharpie Revelation (3rd Edition) by Alex Wrekk [*] Good for anyone interested in creating zines, chockfull of information and tips!
-So You Want to Be President? by Judith St. George; Illustrated by David Small [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] Fun and full of quirky facts!
-Snowflake Bentley by Jacqueline Briggs Martin; Illustrated by Mary Azarian [**][Caldecott Reading Challenge] Fascinating! I learned that snowflakes have 6 points to them and my elementary school days of creating paper ones have misinformed me.
-The Little Island by Margaret Wise Brown; Illustrated by Leonard Weisgard [X][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Prayer for a Child by Rachel Field; Illustrated by Elizabeth Orton Jones [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Mei Li by Thomas Handforth [**] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] It’s amazing how beliefs and attitudes have changed over the years!
-They Were Strong and Good by Robert Lawson [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge] I enjoyed the quiet sense of humor!
-Animals of the Bible by Helen Dean Fish; Illustrated by Dorothy P. Lathrop [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] Actually quite interesting!
-How Rocket Learned to Read by Tad Hills [**]
-Me… Jane by Patrick McDonnell [**]
-Larry Gets Lost in Portland by Michael Mullin and Jon Skewes [*]
-Ladybug Girl by David Soman and Jacky Davis [**/+] I’m so glad I discovered this series! Ladybug Girl is a great character that kids can relate to and whose adventures they’ll enjoy following. The illustrations are great.
-Ladybug Girl and Bumblebee Boy by David Soman and Jacky Davis [**/+]
-Ladybug Girl at the Beach by David Soman and Jacky Davis [**/+]
-Ladybug Girl and the Bug Squad by David Soman and Jacky Davis [**/+]

Books I Plan on Reading This Week
-Peter Pan by J.M Barrie
-Spartacus and the Circus of Shadows by Molly E. Johnson- I know I said the same thing last week but I ended up reading other books!
-More books for my Caldecott Reading Challenge

And, thank you to everyone who have visited “Chronicles” and left a comment! I’ve enjoyed checking out your blogs to see which books I should read next- or, at least, add to my ridiculously long- and still growing- “to read” list!

 

7 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- July 9, 2012

  1. msyingling

    July 9, 2012 at 5:03 am

    I’ve always thought that They Were Strong and Good should get a lot more coverage than it should. Looks like you have been reading a lot!

     
  2. Katya

    July 9, 2012 at 6:13 am

    I really loved Snowflake Bentley, too. My kids didn’t love that one as much as I did, though.

     
  3. Hannahlily

    July 9, 2012 at 8:08 am

    I read through the Caldecott winners and honors a few years ago. It’s quite an undertaking, but there are quite a few gems to be found! Good luck with your reading! Ladybug Girl is super popular at my library. We can’t keep them on the shelves. I absolutely adore Peter Pan. One of my favorite classics.

     
  4. LInda Baie (@LBaie)

    July 9, 2012 at 8:17 am

    Lots of good picture books here. I like One Cool Friend, can see how fun it would be to read aloud to a group of young students. I don’t know the Ladybug girl series, so will look for it. Thanks!

     
  5. Tara

    July 9, 2012 at 10:06 am

    Peter Pan! I haven’t read that in years, but what a great read!

     
  6. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    July 9, 2012 at 6:11 pm

    I love How Rocket Learned to Read and Me…Jane. Both great books. You got a lot of reading in! I like your little rating system. 🙂

     
  7. novalibrarymom

    July 10, 2012 at 3:55 am

    We love the Ladybug and Bumblebee books at our house! I started collecting them before my daughter was born, and we’ve just kept on going! I’ve also used Snowflake Bentley many, many times when teaching biographies. I love all the little facts written in the margins. It’s a beautifully illustrated book, as well as being informative.

     

Leave a Reply

 
