RSS

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- July 23, 2012

22 Jul

It’s Sunday so you know what that means, right? Here’s another installment of the ever-popular “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” meme!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Children’s Books Read This Week
-Cora Cooks Pancit by Dorina K. Lazo Gilmore [*] It’s so rare to find books with Filipino characters so I gobbled this one up! Recipe for pancit is included.
-Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie [**- My Pick of the Week] Wonderfully charming, fun, with a tinge of sadness, I had to add this to My Most Favorite Favorites list!
-Chopsticks by Amy Krause Rosenthal [*] This was an accidental read. I thought this was by the same author who wrote Spork. I enjoyed all the puns.
-Lon Po Po by Ed Young [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] This was a fascinating Chinese version of the little red riding hood story.
-The Biggest Bear by Lynd K. Ward [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] It was interesting to read about a little boy with a shotgun who goes into the woods by himself to try and kill and skin a bear. Also interesting was when he when he went off to far off places by himself to get rid of the bear he had gotten quite attached to. It was just incredible how the boy survived at all in this story.
-White Snow, Bright Snow by Alvin Tresselt, Illustrated by Roger Duvoisin [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Shadow by Blaise Cendrars, Illustrated by Marcia Brown [X] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] The illustrations were nice enough.
-Joseph Had A Little Overcoat by Simms Taback [**] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] Get the edition where the author reads the story and sings it in both English and Yiddish!

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I finally started reading “Spartacus and the Circus of Shadows.” I hope to finish more Caldecott-winning books as well.

Happy Reading Week to everyone!

 

5 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- July 23, 2012

  1. Katya

    July 23, 2012 at 6:25 am

    My kids really liked listening to a Peter Pan audiobook a couple of years ago on a car trip.

     
  2. Hannahlily Smith (@HannahlilyS)

    July 23, 2012 at 10:49 am

    Isn’t Peter Pan fabulous? One of my very favorite books too. It’s obvious why some books remain classics.

     
  3. LInda Baie (@LBaie)

    July 23, 2012 at 2:38 pm

    It’s hard to believe how some of the picture books get dated. I used Marcia Brown’s book in an art assignment once, however, for the students to take photos of interesting shadows. It worked for that very well. I like that Chopsticks book too. Thanks for all!

     
  4. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 23, 2012 at 7:10 pm

    I love Lon Po Po and Peter Pan too. They are both very important and great books!
    Btw- I really like how you mark your books with Xs or *s- I may talk to Jen and steal something like that 🙂

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  5. Maria

    July 25, 2012 at 12:30 pm

    I love Joseph. I’ve never heard it on audio. I’m intrigued now, especially by hearing it in Yiddish!

     

Leave a Reply

 
