RSS

It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- July 30, 2012

29 Jul

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

It’s been a fun filled week. I started my new job at Green Bean Books, continued volunteering at Multnomah County Library and the Children’s Book Bank, and visited my 15th Little Free Library. I even shared a little bit about the picture book project I’m working on!

Books Read This Week
-Quiet, Please by Scott Douglas [*] You can read why I both loved and hated this book here.

Children’s Books
-Rocket Writes a Story by Tad Hills [**- My Pick of the Week] This would make for a perfect gift for any aspiring writer regardless of their age!
-Chloe and the Lion by Mac Barnett, Illustrated by Adam Rex [*] I’ve been meaning to read this book and it was quite enjoyable- very meta! It’s part of this list- Wildest Children’s Books of 2012.
-Chopsticks by Jessica Anthony and Rodrigo Corral [*] This book definitely deserves a reread. I was quite annoyed when I first finished it but going over the pictures more carefully, I kind of appreciated it.
-You Are My Wonders by Mariann Cusimano Love [*] I’m quite taken with this series- which includes “You Are My I Love You,”“You Are My Miracle,” and “You Are My Wish.” They are very comforting.

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I’m almost finished with “Spartacus and the Circus of Shadows.” I picked up a couple of ARCs- “The Templeton Twins Have An Idea: Book One” and “Liar & Spy” so hopefully I’ll get to at least start one of them. I also want to read the other “wildest children’s books of 2012.”

Happy Reading Week everyone!

 

6 responses to “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?- July 30, 2012

  1. Pussreboots

    July 29, 2012 at 11:22 pm

    My favorite read last week was Hereville: How Mirka Met a Meteorite by Barry Deutsch which I read via NetGalley. Please come see what else I’m reading.

     
  2. Deb Nance at Readerbuzz

    July 30, 2012 at 4:25 am

    I stopped in at the Multnomah Library when we were in Portland in June! And I’m asking (urging…pleading with) my esposo to build me a Little Library.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?I hope you will stop in!

     
  3. novalibrarymom

    July 30, 2012 at 11:47 am

    I haven’t read Rocket Writes a Story yet, but if it’s anything like Rocket Learns to Read, it’ll get a good review from me 🙂 Chloe and the Lion is a unique book. Very funny, very clever, but it would be hard to share aloud. The illustrations are so much a part of the story and the more you study them, the more you see.

     
  4. Brunette Librarian

    July 30, 2012 at 4:55 pm

    Woah! Talk about a busy, busy week! Congratulations on all the great news, its a pretty major accomplishment 🙂

    Have a great reading week!
    The Brunette Librarian Blog

     
  5. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 30, 2012 at 8:24 pm

    Haven’t read any of these though I really hope to read Chopsticks at some point.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  6. Earl

    August 3, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Thanks for commenting here! I’ve enjoyed visiting and reading your blogs, as well. It’s so cool to be able to share our thoughts this way!

     

Leave a Reply

 
