RSS

What Are You Reading?- August 5, 2012

05 Aug

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

My life is pretty similar on a week to week basis. Working at Green Bean Books continues to be awesome. If any of you are in a giving mood, you can help GBB build an outdoor deck cover through Indiegogo. Here’s a diorama of what the store would look like if successfully funded!

“What is this? A children’s bookstore for Ants? How can you expect them to come for story time if they cannot fit through the door?!?” (Please give yourself a high five if you can guess which movie this modified quote came from!)

Volunteering continues to be extremely rewarding.

I ran into someone I used to take a writing class with. She said she had enjoyed my writing. They knew I wanted to be a children’s book writer so this was a nice unexpected thing to hear.

In fact, it still blows my mind people actually read anything I write and takes the time to comment. Thank you! And, I’m trying to be a good blogger by visiting your sites and replying.

Also, if you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link to your “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” post!

Books Read This Week

Children’s Books
-Spartacus and the Circus of Shadows by Molly E. Johnson [*- I may do a separate post for my review of this book.]
-Arlo Needs Glasses by Barney Saltzberg [*] I can definitely see myself handselling this book. It’s a fun, interactive book that comes with four different pairs of glasses that kids will enjoy wearing!

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I started “I Capture the Castle” by Dodie Smith. This was an accidental read. I was supposed to pick up Kate Messner’s “Capture the Flag” because that’s what everyone’s been talking about on Twitter. But I was instantly hooked. I’m also reading “Liar & Spy” by Rebecca Stead.

Happy Reading Week everyone!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading?- August 5, 2012

  1. Pussreboots

    August 5, 2012 at 8:16 pm

    Those accidental reads so often become the best and most memorable ones. My favorite book last week was My favorite read last week was I Was Told There’d Be Cake by (audio) by Sloane Crosley which I listened to on my way to and from work Please come see what else I’m reading.

     
  2. thebookishoutsider

    August 6, 2012 at 2:29 am

    I Capture The Castle is an excellent ‘accidental’ read, hope you enjoy it! Happy reading!

    What I’ve Been Reading

     
  3. Katya

    August 6, 2012 at 3:41 am

    Capture the Castle is great… as is Capture the Flag.
    I can’t wait to read Liar and Spy… it looks great from everything I’ve been seeing…

     
  4. Brunette LIbrarian

    August 6, 2012 at 6:49 am

    Arlo needs Glasses looks pretty cute. I’ve had glasses since I was in Elementary School and I love the idea of a Children’s book to help kids with the stigma. 🙂

    Happy reading this week!
    Check out what I’m reading and enter for a giveaway!

     
  5. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    August 6, 2012 at 6:58 am

    I just ordered Liar and Spy for my IPad, lots of good things are being said about it. I love Capture The Castle, an old book very worthy of keeping in the light for students. Working for a book company must be lots of fun. Thanks for the great post.

     
  6. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    August 6, 2012 at 11:05 am

    I want to read Liar and Spy and Capture the Flag. Sometimes those accidental reads can be nice pleasant surprises.

     
  7. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 6, 2012 at 6:57 pm

    Love accidental reads! Sometimes they are the best 🙂
    Enjoy it and Liar & Spy.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  8. Maria

    August 8, 2012 at 5:48 pm

    Wasn’t Arlo Needs Glasses cute? My 3yo thinks it’s great fun to try a different pair of glasses on each time she reads the book. I love how interactive it is.

     

Leave a Reply

 
