RSS

What Are You Reading?- August 19, 2012

19 Aug

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

And, if you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Children’s Books
-I Capture the Castle by Dodie Smith [**- My Pick of the Week] This was an accidental read! I was supposed to read Kate Messner’s “Capture the Flag” but, when I picked this up and read the summary, I had to read it. I loved the world I found myself in every time I picked this book up. I wanted to savor each moment. I laughed out loud while riding public transportation during the “bear” incident. The only thing I didn’t particularly care for was the love complications. It just seemed too much!
-Ashanti to Zulu: African Traditions by Margaret Musgrove, Illustrated by Leo and Diane Dillon [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Fortune Cookies by Albert Bitterman, Illustrated by Chris Rashka [*]
-The Library by Sarah Stewart, Illustrated by David Small [*] Charming with wonderful watercolors
-Yoko Learns to Read by Rosemary Wells [*] Captures the thrill of learning to read. The mother is such a unique character in children’s literature.
-The Dunderheads Behind Bars by Paul Fleischman, Illustrated by David Roberts [*] A simple fun mystery with a ragtag cast of characters. Has a great message of friendship and teamwork

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I’ve started “The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon, a book I’ve been meaning to read for awhile now. I’m liking it so far! I’ll probably read an ARC of Gretchen Rubin’s “Happier at Home” for a different experience. I enjoyed and would recommend “The Happiness Project.”

Happy Reading Week everyone!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading?- August 19, 2012

  1. Pussreboots

    August 19, 2012 at 8:57 pm

    I ADORE the Yoko books. They are always so wonderful.

    I had a fantastic week of reading so it’s really difficult to pick a favorite book. I’m going to have go with a fan girl response and say the best (out of an extremely good set of books) was The Girl Who Fell Beneath Fairyland and Led the Revels There by Catherynne M. Valente. Please come and see what else I’m reading.

     
  2. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    August 19, 2012 at 10:03 pm

    I too just ‘discovered’ Capture The Castle & loved it. Did you know there is a movie that is pretty good? I just found The Library at the library (just had to write that), looking forward to it. Thanks for telling about the others.

     
  3. Myra GB

    August 20, 2012 at 1:49 am

    I know about “The Library” as it is one of the books that I have on reserve from our library. Wasn’t able to pick it up last week but will do so in two days’ time. I’m excited to read it as I am a huge Stewart and Small fan and it fits right into our current bimonthly theme on “Dusty Bookshelves and Library Loot” until middle of September. Will look for that. 🙂 Thanks for sharing all this! 🙂

     
  4. Natalie Dias Lorenzi

    August 20, 2012 at 6:10 am

    I love it when “accidental reads” turn out to be gems. 🙂 I’m also looking forward to reading Kate Messner’s Capture the Flag. Thanks for the recommendations!

     
  5. Hannahlily

    August 20, 2012 at 10:03 am

    Love the Yoko books. So unique. The Library is such a winner as well. I *still* need to read I Capture the Castle! Been on my TBR shelf for years!

     
  6. Lorna

    August 20, 2012 at 10:27 am

    Lots of great reading here! I’ve got The Library waiting for me on the hold shelf at the library. Did you read the first Dunderheads? I found the second one lacked a bit of the fun and originality of the first, but then again I adored the first one a lot! Capture the Castle sounds good too. Shadow of the Wind is one of my all-time favorites. Have a great week!

     
  7. Maria

    August 20, 2012 at 11:23 am

    I’m waiting for The Library to come up at my library. I love the Sarah Stewart/David Small combination. Their books have such a timeless feel.

     
  8. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 20, 2012 at 5:19 pm

    Lots of read Earl and I haven’t read any! I have definitely heard of I Capture the Castle and that it is wonderful- I am happy to hear that you agree.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
