RSS

What Are You Reading?- August 26, 2012

26 Aug

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

We had Educators Night at Green Bean Books this past Wednesday evening. It was great to share some books we were excited about- and to get some recommendations from teachers, as well!

A book I’ve been recommending to customers is Katherine Applegate’s “The One and Only Ivan.”

A close up of the shelftalker I made for the book.

And, if you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Children’s Books Read This Week
-I Am So Handsome by Mario Ramos [*] Another instance in which I read the sequel before the first book.
-Is That You, Wolf? By Steve Cox [*] A fun twist on the traditional touch-and-feel format books
-The Dunderheads by Paul Fleischman, Illustrated by David Roberts [*]
Skippyjon Jones by Judy Schachner [*/+] I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!
-Abraham Lincoln by Ingri and Edgar Parin d’Aulaire [**- Pick of the Week] [Caldecott Reading Challenge] Wonderful biography for kids of a great man
-Tomas and the Library Lady by Pat Mora, Illustrated by Raul Colon [*] Based on a true story of what a difference books, libraries and librarians can make in someone’s life. The illustrations were definitely unique.

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended
+= Not a rating but I just wanted to share which books I read on We Give Books. You can read about why I think We Give Books is so great here.

I was reading “The Shadow of the Wind” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon but I had to return it to the library. It was getting so good, too! I did check out some more books for my Caldecott Reading Challenge!

The stack of Caldecott winning books I hope to read this week!

Happy Reading Week everyone!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading?- August 26, 2012

  1. Andee Z/Nature of a Servant

    August 27, 2012 at 7:15 am

    I love Skippyjon Jones! They are my favorite read-alouds. There was a reason I took 3 years of Spanish in high school – to read Skippyjon with a proper accent!

    Also, I need to dig out the journaling questions my daughter had when she took a Caldecott Challenge in 2nd grade. They were pretty intense for a 7 year old’s assignment, but she is so glad she did it!

     
  2. Pussreboots

    August 27, 2012 at 1:41 pm

    We have a copy of Skippyjon but I haven’t read it. My favorite book this week was Ottoline at Sea by Chris Riddell. Please come see what I’m reading now.

     
  3. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    August 27, 2012 at 7:06 pm

    I LOVE We Give Books as well! I blogged about why I am a fan here- http://www.teachmentortexts.com/2012/06/we-give-books.html

    I also love Skippyjon Johns- he is a great little cat.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  4. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    August 27, 2012 at 8:03 pm

    Some good books on your list! I don’t think I’ve read any Skippyjohn Jones, so will need to find some in our library. The d’Aulaire biographies are beautiful, but also look for the new Lincoln biography by Maira Kalman. It’s terrific, too. Thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
