RSS

What Are You Reading?- September 23, 2012

23 Sep

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I basically caught up on my Caldecott Reading Challenge– 10 more to go! I visited lots of libraries and bookstores to add to my lists. Obviously, I can get quite obsessive!

A children’s area at one of the bookstores I visited this week.

While at one of the university libraries I visited, I checked out the Berta and Elmer Hader Collection Exhibition. Check out my write up of it in a day or two! It was quite inspiring.

Children’s Books Read This Week
-Imagine a Place by Sarah L. Thomson, Illustrated by Rob Gonsalves [*]- Beautiful mindboggling illustrations with a sweet message. I’m working on a shelftalker at work for this
-Black and White by David Macaulay [*- Pick of the Week] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]- A great experiment in storytelling
-Smoky Night by Eve Bunting, Illustrated by David Diaz [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Song of the Swallows by Leo Politi [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Arrow to the Sun by Gerald McDermott [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-The Glorious Flight by Alice & Martin Provensen [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-St. George & the Dragon by Margaret Hodges, Illustrated by Trina Schart Hyman [*] [Caldecott Reading Challenge]- A worthy winner of the Caldecott medal

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I ‘m hoping to finish “The Crying Tree” so I can attend one of the book club discussions the library’s holding in which Naseem Rahka, the author, will be there.

Happy Reading Week everyone!

 

13 responses to “What Are You Reading?- September 23, 2012

  1. laurelrainsnow

    September 23, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    I enjoyed many Caldecott books when I was in university. Hope you have a great week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

     
  2. Sheila (Book Journey)

    September 23, 2012 at 8:26 pm

    Love the children’s area pick! Have a super week!

     
  3. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    September 23, 2012 at 9:21 pm

    Lots of beautiful picture books on your list, Earl. I love Imagine A Place. Thanks for telling about them.

     
  4. Pussreboots

    September 23, 2012 at 11:27 pm

    Mostly now I’m listening to my daughter as she reads her picture books. My favorite book this week was Tuesdays at the Castle by Jessica Day George. Please come see what I’m reading now.

     
  5. Teddyree

    September 24, 2012 at 2:41 am

    I thought The Crying Tree was beautifully written. I’d love to meet the author. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

     
  6. Myra GB

    September 24, 2012 at 4:05 am

    I loved Smoky NIght by Eve Bunting. I wanted to write a review of that book but didn’t get a chance to do it – very powerful and inspiring, and the artwork, just glorious. I also bought quite a few David Macaulay books from the recent Singapore Library Book Sale – but the title you shared is unfamiliar to me. Will look for that one! 🙂

     
  7. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    September 24, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Hey, I recognize some of those! (I don’t always, since I don’t read as many picture books now). I love Smoky Night and St. George and the Dragon!

     
  8. Sam @ The Little Munchkin Reader

    September 24, 2012 at 5:11 am

    Never heard of the Caldecott Reading Challenge. Happy Reading!

     
  9. Erin @ Quixotic Magpie

    September 24, 2012 at 7:15 am

    I work in an elementary school library, and we have so many of those books on our shelves! One of my favorites is Smoky Night. Have a great week!

     
  10. Teacher.Mother.Reader

    September 24, 2012 at 8:37 am

    The children’s area in the bookstore looks so inviting! I love the Caldecott challenge, there are so many amazing books that have been highlighted over the years!

     
  11. Lorna

    September 24, 2012 at 10:28 am

    I love the nook, in the children’s section! So cute. I enjoyed Smoky Night, and actually like Song of the Swallows, since I taught mission history when I was teaching in California. You’re other Caldecott titles are on my yet to read pile.

     
  12. Aleksandra

    September 24, 2012 at 11:06 am

    I actually haven’t read any of those books.

    Happy reading & have a great week!

     
  13. Lindsey

    September 24, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    I will have to look for St. George and the Dragon. I think that one be one that David would enjoy.

     

Leave a Reply

 
