RSS

What Are You Reading?- September 30, 2012

30 Sep

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

It’s been a busy week prepping and moving to a new place. The only books I seem to have read this week were the ones I needed to make shelftalkers for.

From last week’s post: Imagine a Place

I love getting to be bit creative at my job. I particularly liked making the word “Imagine” out of the branches and empty spaces of a winter landscape.

Also, I wrote another post on my work’s blog about some board books that I thought were quite fun.

Just another day at work!

I did also volunteer more than usual at the Children’s Book Bank. They’re currently in the midst of a huge project cleaning and sorting through 100,000 books that’s going to the hands of 5,000 kids! I definitely wanted to be part of this literacy push!

Finally, every time I recommend the Ladybug Girl series to customers, I tell them about the upcoming Read for Record on October 4th!

Books Read This Week
-The Crying Tree by Naseem Rahka [**- My Pick of the Week]- Powerful and moving

Children’s Books
-Not a Box by Antoinette Portis [*] Highly imaginative
-Not a Stick by Antoinette Portis [*]

This was made using a Starbucks cup holder, some brown paper lying around, and twigs!

-A Trip to the Bottom of the World with Mouse by Frank Viva [**] A great graphic novel to introduce kids in the genre. Already, I’m looking forward to his next “Toon” title coming out in April 2013, “A Long Way Away”
-Along a Long Road by Frank Viva [*]

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I finally got back “The Shadow of the Wind” from the library but, not only will there be two Jasper Fforde books coming out on Tuesday, I should read “The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom” by Christopher Healy since he’s coming to our store in October!

Happy Reading Week everyone!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading?- September 30, 2012

  1. faith hope & cherrytea

    September 30, 2012 at 10:13 pm

    wow that is a lot of sorting for the books to kids but such a worthy effort!
    luv the creativity !

     
  2. Pussreboots

    September 30, 2012 at 11:19 pm

    I love love love Imagine a Place (and the other two books in the series).

    My favorite book this week was Dr. Seuss: The Cat Behind the Hat by Caroline W. Smith. Please come see what I’m reading now.

     
  3. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    October 1, 2012 at 3:16 am

    Ooo… I may need to check out the “Not a Stick” and “Not a box” books to use with my creative thinking lessons.

     
  4. Katya

    October 1, 2012 at 4:33 am

    I love the shelftalker for Imagine — so clever.

     
  5. Tara

    October 1, 2012 at 7:57 am

    Shelftalkers – I need to do these!

     
  6. Hannahlily

    October 1, 2012 at 9:20 am

    Love the Portis books. Two of my very favorite picture books. I’m super excited to read A Trip to the Bottom of the World with Mouse.

     
  7. Teacher.Mother.Reader

    October 1, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    Love that books are getting into the hands of children via your community service work. Is there anything better? I need to find Not a Box and Not a Stick. They look fun!

     
  8. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    October 1, 2012 at 2:56 pm

    Love the “Shelftalkers”-so creative! I looked up The Crying Trees-wow-sounds so sad. But glad to hear about it. You’ve given a wide variety of titles & I appreciate it very much. Love the idea of not a box or not a stick. Nice to think about… Thanks.

     
  9. Sheila BookJourney

    October 2, 2012 at 5:15 pm

    I am finally getting around to some of the Monday posts! It has been pretty crazy with the Banned Book Week festivities and hosting all the giveaways… fun but crazy. I wanted to tell you happy reading this week 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
