RSS

What Are You Reading?- October 7, 2012

07 Oct

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I can’t even really remember what I did this past week.

Of course, it was Banned Books Week. I had intended to do a post or two about it but I guess I was too busy. I did manage to write some BBW entries on my other blog- Library Hopping.

I also made shelftalkers for “Wonder” and “Spartacus and the Circus of Shadows.”

Books Read This Week
-The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon [**- My Pick of the Week]- This is another one of those books that’s a must-read for any book lover. Stories within stories, mysteries upon mysteries. Very layered and masterfully told. One of my favorite favorites!
-Library Wars: Love and War, Volume I by Kiiro Yumi; Original Concept by Hiro Arikawa [*]- This was my first time reading a manga and it definitely took awhile to get used to! The title of the series caught my eye so I just had to read it and it was actually quite perfect since it was Banned Books Week.

Children’s Books
-How Do Dinosaurs Say Merry Christmas? By Jane Yolen and Mark Teague [*] [A to Z Children’s Picture Book Series Reading Challenge]
-Let’s Go for a Drive! By Mo Willems [*] [A to Z Children’s Picture Book Series Reading Challenge]

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I had received J.K. Rowling’s “The Casual Vacancy” from the laundry and the writing was so bad I returned it. I was so disappointed that by adult they meant lots of swearing and sexually explicit content. I’m still reading “The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom” by Christopher Healy since he’s coming to our store this Saturday!

Happy Reading Week everyone!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading?- October 7, 2012

  1. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    October 8, 2012 at 4:04 am

    I adore Jane Yolen – she’s so prolific and has written such diverse books! Love that gorgeous shelf talker, too!

     
  2. Sheila BookJourney

    October 8, 2012 at 6:33 am

    UGh…. I just read what you said about The Casual Vacancy. I was afraid it wouldnt be good – my copy is on a shelf yet to be read and now I am a little afraid of it… 🙂

     
  3. Teacher.Mother.Reader

    October 8, 2012 at 7:18 am

    Surprising to hear what you thought about Rowling’s new book. I was interested … but now I am wondering just what I will find inside those pages.

     
  4. Lorna

    October 8, 2012 at 9:55 am

    Glad you enjoyed The Shadow of the Wind. I didn’t enjoy his later books as much. Have great fun with your Christopher Healy visit and I love your shelf talker–too cute!

     
  5. Katya

    October 8, 2012 at 11:45 am

    Unfortunately it seems like most people who have read The Casual Vacancy feel the same way. I didn’t buy it because the price was too high and now I’m glad I didn’t. I may take it out from the library once the buzz dies down.

     
  6. Katya

    October 8, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Oh and your shelf talkers are so clever I am going to try making a few for our school library.

     
  7. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    October 8, 2012 at 7:03 pm

    I love The Shadow of the Wind!

     

Leave a Reply

 
