RSS

What Are You Reading?- October 14, 2012

14 Oct

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This was another full week. I can’t say I don’t like it. I like having things to do!

I attended a Banned Books Week reading. It’s crazy that books are still being challenged! One of the most memorable parts was when one of the authors (Vanessa Vaselka, “Zazen”) got emotional reading a passage from one of my 36 favorite Favorite Books- “To Kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee. It just went to show how much power there are in words!

One of the perks in working at a bookstore is when authors come in randomly. Alexis M. Smith who wrote “Glaciers” stopped by to shop and even signed her book for us!

I also ran an in-store event where I showed kids and their parents to make origami jack-o-lanterns. It was unexpected busy but I enjoyed seeing how creative the children got!

Some folks for the origami jack-o-lantern craft project

I attended a library book club for Naseem Rakha’s “The Crying Tree.” I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed the actual discussion. It was a bonus that the author was there!

Also, events for Wordstock- Portland’s annual literary festival- have been going on all week. I loved their pop-up readings this year! We also had an author reading in our store for one of the authors- Christopher Healy, “The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom.” (I’ll write a blog post about this later.)

Shelftalker: “The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom” by Christopher Healy

Display: “The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom” by Christopher Healy

Children’s Books Read This Week
-Nine Days to Christmas: A Story of Mexico by Marie Hall Ets and Aurora Labastida [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Noah’s Ark by Jacob Revius; Illustrated by Peter Spier [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Ox-Cart Man by Donald Hall; Illustrated by Barbara Cooney [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen [*]- I surprisingly enjoyed this book more than “I Want My Hat Back”
-The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy [*- My Pick of the Week]
-Look… Look Again! By John O’Brien [*]- I found the illustrations (comic strip style) quite hilarious, definitely quirky visual brain teasers.
-(Oliver) by Christopher Franceshelli [*]- An interesting novelty board book for kids
-Popville by Anouck Boisrobert [*]- A fine example of great paper engineering that tells a story.

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I bought the two Jasper Fforde novels a couple of weeks ago- “The Woman Who Died A Lot” and “The Last Dragonslayer”- so I’ll probably read at least one of those. I also borrowed a pile of Caldecott winning books for my Reading Challenge. I’m almost done with reading them all. But I have another rather busy week ahead.

Happy Reading everyone!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading?- October 14, 2012

  1. Lorna

    October 15, 2012 at 10:47 am

    Hope the Hero’s Guide visit was a success. I’ll look for you post on it later! I was in a minority, as I did not LOVE I Want My Hat Back, so I’m curious to see my reaction to this newest Klassen book.

     
  2. novalibrarymom

    October 15, 2012 at 11:44 am

    Oh, I LOVE Hero’s Guide! That book kept me up into the wee hours because I just didn’t want to put it down. I’m also with Lorna in that I’m one of the few who was not blown away by I Want My Hat Back, so I’ll be interested to see what your review says, too.

     
  3. Fats Suela

    October 15, 2012 at 6:23 pm

    Third time I’ve seen Jon Klassen this week! It must be that good! Best to grab a copy STAT! I already have two Jasper Fforde novels – Thursday Next and The Fourth Bear – but I haven’t had a chance to read either. Glad to see more Fforde titles! I’ll be on the lookout for them!

     
  4. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    October 15, 2012 at 7:26 pm

    I agree- I think I liked This is not my Hat better than the first. The crab cracked me up!
    Also, loved Hero’s Guide – another very funny book.

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
