RSS

What Are You Reading?- October 21, 2012

21 Oct

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Wordstock wrapped up on Sunday. It was a great opportunity to be surrounded by other book lovers. I was amazed by how incredibly nice the authors (Tad Hills and John Stephens just to name a couple) were in stopping by our booth to sign their books for us. I wrote a wrap up of Wordstock and other events at Green Bean Books on our blog.

Me at Wordstock

I did get to post my review for “The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom” by Christopher Healy.

I got to see Jasper Fforde speak again. He was as funny and intelligent as last time. I highly recommend you all check him out especially his Thursday Next series. The latest one “The Woman Who Died a Lot” was just released- as well as his first novel for kids “The Last Dragonslayer.”

I was exploring Portland and ran across this Book Tree. I love how this really is a city of readers.

Book Tree

I volunteered with Friends of the Multnomah County Library’s 40th Birthday Bash. I wrote an article for them regarding my book club visit for Naseem Rakha’s “The Crying Tree.”

The online class Writing for Children I signed up for started this week. It’s definitely interesting how much time I’ll put into it since it’s free and there’s really no accountability.

I also finished my Caldecott Reading Challenge! I’ll write about that eventually. It was funny reading a couple of them while riding public transportation and librarians (of course!) recognizing them.

Children’s Books Read This Week
-The Fool of the World and the Flying Ship by Arthur Ransome; Illustrated by Uri Shulevitz [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-The Girl Who Loved Horses by Paul Goble [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Chanticleer and the Fox by Geoffrey Chaucer; Illustrated by Barbara Cooney [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-The Christmas Quiet Book by Deborah Underwood; Illustrated by Renata Liwska [*]
-A Story, A Story by Gail E. Haley [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Grandfather’s Journey by Allen Say [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Oliver by Birgitta Sif [*]- Check out this shelftalker I made!

Oliver Shelftalker

Oliver is a great picture book that celebrates creativity, individuality and friendship!

-The Funny Little Woman by Arlene Mosel; Illustrated by Blair Lent [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Finders Keepers by Will Lipkind; Illustrated by Nicolas Mordvinoff [*][Caldecott Reading Challenge]
-Earl the Squirrel by Don Freeman [*- My Pick of the Week]- I may be biased because it has my name but it really is a cute story!

EARL THE SQUIRREL by DON FREEMAN may just be the BEST book we have in the store not just because of the main character’s name but it truly is a fun adventure story about friendship, being independent and resourceful, and proving oneself!!!

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I picked up “The End of the Alphabet” by C.S. Richardson because the title alone sounded interesting. I don’t know how much reading I’ll actually get done since I also want to finish my Disney Animated Movies Challenge in which I’ve been watching the (currently) 51 films in reverse chronological order.

Happy Reading everyone!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading?- October 21, 2012

  1. Myra GB

    October 22, 2012 at 3:48 am

    Hi there Earl, what a lovely post brimming with so many photos, and a Book Tree! Wow! I’m going to look for ‘Earl the Squirrel’ too. I think we’re nearly done with the Caldecott Reading Challenge as well, yay!

     
  2. Tara

    October 22, 2012 at 5:54 am

    A book tree…now that is something every town should have! I thought I’d read all of Freeman’s books, but Earl the Squirrell is new to me. Now I need to find it…

     
  3. novalibrarymom

    October 22, 2012 at 10:57 am

    I’m a tad bit jealous of your meeting with Christopher Healy. I’ve been constantly booktalking A Hero’s Guide since I read it earlier this year 🙂 Very much looking forward to more from him!

     
  4. Teacher.Mother.Reader

    October 22, 2012 at 2:12 pm

    I love all of the Caldecott books. Grandfather’s Journey, The Girl Who Loved Wild Horses, A Story, A Story, and all of the others are such classics. No wonder they are award winners! Thanks for sharing, always love seeing your shelf talkers!

     
  5. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    October 22, 2012 at 2:17 pm

    I second NovaLibraryMom’s sentiment. I loved that book!

     

Leave a Reply

 
