RSS

What Are You Reading?- November 11, 2012

11 Nov

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

After not finishing even a single book last week, I definitely made more of an effort to read. I would even say it was a surprising week in terms of the fact I discovered books I didn’t think I would like.

Books Read This Week
-You Must Revise Your Life by William Stafford [*- My Pick of the Week]- I went to an exhibit of William Stafford’s correspondences with other people and just wanted to learn more about him. This was a great introduction combining poetry, essays, and interviews all centered around the writing process. You can read my post about the exhibit on my other blog, Library Hopping.

Children’s Books Read
-How Do Dinosaurs Say Happy Chanukah? By Jane Yolen, Illustrated by Mark Teague [*]
-Hello! Hello! By Matthew Cordell [*]
-The Greatest Table: A Banquet to Fight Against Hunger Written and Edited by Michael J. Rosen [*]-I ran across this book during a volunteer session for the Children’s Book Bank. Sixteen popular children’s book illustrators contributed to this accordion-style book that benefited Share Our Strength and their campaign against world hunger. It was great to see their very distinctive style. One lucky kid is going to be so thrilled when they get this!
-Amelia Bedelia’s First Day of School by Herman Parish, Illustrated by Lynn Avril [*][A to Z Children’s Picture Book Reading Challenge]- I admit when I first read this book, I hated it because they seemed to have ruined the character I remember from my childhood. But, I actually ended up liking the books and came to appreciate the style and format.
-Amelia Bedelia’s First Apple Pie by Herman Parish, Illustrated by Lynn Avril [*][A to Z Children’s Picture Book Reading Challenge]
-Amelia Bedelia’s First Field Trip by Herman Parish, Illustrated by Lynn Avril [*][A to Z Children’s Picture Book Reading Challenge]
-Amelia Bedelia’s First Valentine by Herman Parish, Illustrated by Lynn Avril [*][A to Z Children’s Picture Book Reading Challenge]
-Amelia Bedelia’s First Vote by Herman Parish, Illustrated by Lynn Avril [*][A to Z Children’s Picture Book Reading Challenge]
-Apple by Nikki McClure [*]- I also ended up going to a gallery featuring the work of Nikki McClure. Her paper cuts were amazing close up. I was only familiar with her and her work from seeing it around our store.

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

It seems the rare instances when I buy a book, I don’t actually end up reading it because I don’t have the urgency like with a library book. Jasper Fforde’s two recent releases continue to be unread on my bookshelf- as well as the Agatha Christie books I’ve been buying. I’m looking forward to Christopher Pike’s “Witch World” coming out next Tuesday, November 13th! My request for “Silhouette of a Sparrow” has come in. This was a book I ran across from other IMWAYR posts.

Another exhibit I checked out was “Winter is Coming: Game of Thrones Fan Art Show!” Eighteen local artists paid tribute to the series “through various mediums- good old fashioned ink on paper, digital art, embroidery, ceramics, stone, photography, paper cuts, collage, stencils, and even tarot cards!” I’ve only read the first book and despite not wanting to read the rest because I can’t deal with my favorite characters dying off, I highly recommend it. Portland is definitely a great place to live in for book lovers!

I wrote a post about World Book Night since they just released the titles they’ll be giving away next year.

Oh, and this was my first ever election!
I was relieved when the people and measures I voted for won. One of the biggest victories was Multnomah County Library finally getting a dedicated funding source by being able to form a library district.

Enjoy the slideshow of bookish things I saw this past week!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Happy Reading everyone!

 

11 responses to “What Are You Reading?- November 11, 2012

  1. MarthaE

    November 11, 2012 at 9:14 pm

    Nice slideshow! You did well reading last week. I remember reading the Amelia books with my children. 🙂
    Have a good week!

     
  2. Jo

    November 11, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    I love Amelia Bedelia. She brings back great memories. =) Happy Reading!

     
  3. Tara

    November 11, 2012 at 10:01 pm

    Yay for you and your election successes/ experiences. It was a happy day for me, too – I got to vote alongside my son, who was voting for the first time! I love Stafford’s poetry….and Amelia is a delight, which I remember from long ago.

     
  4. Sam @ The Little Munchkin Reader

    November 12, 2012 at 2:38 am

    Love the slideshow. Have a good week.

     
  5. readerbuzz

    November 12, 2012 at 4:43 am

    I love William Stafford. I must look for this book. Thank you.

    Here’s my It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?! I hope you will stop by!

     
  6. Lorna

    November 12, 2012 at 8:01 am

    Love the Powell’s window displays for Klassen’s books. And yay for successful library funding. I too adored the early Amelia Bedelia books and sometimes the newer ones don’t quite have the same feel. I’m looking forward to Hello! Hello! coming via my library.

     
  7. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    November 12, 2012 at 1:57 pm

    Thanks for sharing the book art/love at the end. Beautiful pics. I love William Stafford, so will look for this book. I am reading his son’s book about writing and creativity now-The Muses Among Us. And, thanks for telling about so many Amelia Bedelia books. They are old favorites.

     
  8. Myra GB

    November 12, 2012 at 5:40 pm

    Hi there Earl, the slideshow is wonderful, the photos are lovely. I learned about William Stafford through Poetry Friday and I looooved his poetry. I am trying to look for more of his poetry books here in Singapore.

    My daughter had an Amelia Bedelia phase when she was younger. She did enjoy the quick reads. Enjoy the rest of your reading week, Earl!

     
  9. Beth Mitcham

    November 13, 2012 at 12:37 am

    I have the same problem with buying books and then reading my library stuff instead. Sometimes I forgot I own it, and then see the book on a shelf at the library and bring it home again.

     
  10. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    November 13, 2012 at 3:30 am

    Love the slideshow, Earl! I’m a huge Game of Thrones fan, but you do have to allow yourself to accept that many of your favorites will be killed off along the way.

     
  11. guiltlessreader (@guiltlessreader)

    November 13, 2012 at 8:12 pm

    I love your slideshow! What a wonderful way to show off your bookish finds!

     

Leave a Reply

 
