RSS

What Are You Reading?- November 25, 2012

25 Nov

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

It’s been real fun working at a bookstore these days with lots of people buying piles of books as gifts! But, to celebrate the true meaning of the holiday season, I wrote a post giving thanks to all the readers of this blog and shared how doing something free and simple like reading a book online can be a great gift to yourself and others.

Also, on Thanksgiving, I started working on the holiday cards I plan on sending to family and friends. I was partly inspired by Berta and Elmer Hader who made cards that incorporated what they were working on.

Books Read This Week

-Lies, Knives, and Girls with Red Dresses by Ron Koertge, Illustrated by Andrea Dezso [X]- These are fairy tale retellings told in verse. It tried too hard to be edgy. The cut paper illustrations were the only saving grace.

Children’s Books Read

-Filipino Children’s Favorite Stories Retold by Liana Romulo, Illustrated by Joanna de Leon [*]- This was interesting in the sense that I’ve wanted to read more about folk tales from the Philippines. The stories weren’t particularly enjoyable, though.
-Skippyjon Jones in Mummy Trouble by Judy Schachner [*/+]
-Skippyjon Jones and the Big Bones by Judy Schachner [*/+]

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended
+= Read through We Give Books

One of the things I got from my Caldecott Reading Challenge was to take the time to acknowledge the illustrators. In my previous posts, I had forgotten to include them. The Herman Parrish Amelia Bedelia books were illustrated by Lynn Avril. And Russell Hoban’s Frances series was illustrated by his wife, Lillian.

As for the books I’m reading, not only have I not finished any of the books I’ve started but I’ve actually began reading new ones! Hopefully, by year’s end, I would have finished all of them!

Happy Reading everyone!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading?- November 25, 2012

  1. msyingling

    November 26, 2012 at 2:44 am

    Sorry to hear that Filipino Children’s Favorite Stories Retold wasn’t as good as you hoped. With my son in the Philippines this year, I have been on the lookout for literature from there.

     
  2. Jo

    November 26, 2012 at 10:20 am

    The illustrators make for half (or sometimes more) of the experience when I’m reading children’s books. And sometimes I find myself surprised when I realize that this book was illustrated as the same person that did that book.

    I’ve only read the first Skippyjon Jones book and still need to try the rest.

     
  3. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    November 26, 2012 at 2:33 pm

    Illustrators are so important, it’s true! I do lots of comics reading, and it’s amazing the meaning the artist brings to the text. Yet we still tend to credit the writer more than the artist.

     
  4. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader)

    November 26, 2012 at 6:59 pm

    I’ve only read one or two SkippyJon Jones books, but I think they’re hilarious! Enjoy your week!

     
  5. Linda Baie (@LBaie)

    November 26, 2012 at 7:32 pm

    Sometimes the illustrators make the story more than the authors. It’s interesting to me that sometimes Goodreads doesn’t show the illustrator either. Glad to know your ideas about these books, Earl. Thanks!

     
  6. Myra GB

    November 26, 2012 at 8:15 pm

    Hi there Earl, I did a research study on Asian folktales (Singapore, Philippines, Malaysia, Indonesia and India) and presented my findings during the Asian Festival of Children’s Content and another conference in Mumbai (India). I know what you mean when you said that the tales are not really particularly riveting, it’s great to see the commonalities though across the five countries. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
