RSS

What Are You Reading?- December 9, 2012

09 Dec
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Things sure have been busy and they will only continue to be so! But I’m glad I can fill most of my time with things that I enjoy and gives my life purpose or supports my passions while still being able to hang out with others or get time for myself.

I read a lot of board books this week for a blog post for work. You can read about them here.

bb

Children’s Books Read
-Zathura by Chris Van Allsburg [*- My Pick of the Week]- I was in a Chris Van Allsburg reading spree earlier in the year and I can’t believe I hadn’t read this one! I didn’t even realize this was a sequel to Jumanji! One page/illustration definitely had me laughing out loud! I’m definitely going to be recommending this title to our customers!
-Queen of the Falls by Chris Van Allsburg [*]- Fascinating retelling of an actual event.
(Board Books)
-Cozy Classics: Moby Dick by Jack Wang and Holman Wang [*]
-Cozy Classics: Pride and Prejudice by Jack Wang and Holman Wang [*]
-BabyLit: Pride & Prejudice by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver [*]
-BabyLit: Jane Eyre by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver [*]
-BabyLit: Dracula by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver [*]
-BabyLit: A Christmas Carol by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver [*]
-BabyLit: Alice in Wonderland by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver [*]
-BabyLit: Romeo & Juliet by Jennifer Adams and Alison Oliver [*]
-Hello, Doctor by Michael Escoffier and Matthieu Maudet [*]- I love the humor in this book. Very reminiscent of Jon Klassen’s books and “Bear Despair” by Gaëtan Dorémus.

My Rating Scale

X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

Instead of finishing up books I’ve already started, I decided to start “Building Stories” by Chris Ware and The End of Your Life Book Club” by Will Schwalbe because they were library holds that came at the same time! The first is a fascinating reading experience with all the different pieces. The latter has been an enjoyable read so far.

 

10 responses to “What Are You Reading?- December 9, 2012

  1. Erin @Quixotic Magpie

    December 9, 2012 at 7:58 pm

    The BabyLit and Cozy Classics are adorable!! I have a few littles to buy for this Christmas, they look perfect!!

     
  2. Myra GB

    December 10, 2012 at 2:39 am

    Hi there Earl, glad to see all your Cozy Classics reads. Dont you just love it when we have to read and write as part of our work? Which is why I often say that I haven’t technically ‘worked’ a day in my life, well.. except for the part when I have to attend meetings and do administrative duties and senseless paper pushing, otherwise I’m good. I haven’t made much progress with most of my reading as well.

     
  3. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    December 10, 2012 at 3:53 am

    I’ll look for your board book post. That is cool!

     
  4. msyingling

    December 10, 2012 at 3:58 am

    Board books of Moby Dick. *Shakes head* If I got one of Gone With the Wind for my library, I know the students would try to read the board board and take the accelerated reader test to try to get the 69 points. Hard to imagine the audience for these.

     
  5. The Styling Librarian

    December 10, 2012 at 4:41 am

    Had my eye on those classics, curious to glance thru one… Bet those will be popular holiday ciche gifts…

     
  6. Gigi McAllister

    December 10, 2012 at 7:28 am

    Wow! I’ve never seen the Baby Lit books. Sooo interesting!

     
  7. Tara

    December 10, 2012 at 7:29 am

    I am in awe of Van Allsburg…but the Moby Dick picture book has me intrigued!

     
  8. Lorna

    December 10, 2012 at 9:47 am

    I’ll have to look for that Van Allsburg book . . . and I’ll be checking out your post on those board book classics!

     
  9. vintagefrills

    December 10, 2012 at 2:37 pm

    Wow these look amazing! Must get my hands on them for my girls!

     
  10. Jo

    December 10, 2012 at 3:51 pm

    I love the idea of baby classics. I’m definitely going to have to look into them. The End of Your Life Book Club is among my TBR books. I’ve heard good things so far.

     

Leave a Reply

 
