RSS

My Reading Life

04 Jan

My last two posts have been blogging focused so I wanted to take this time to talk about my reading life- a look back at 2012 and my goals for 2013.

I read 324 books last year. Because of my multiple reading challenges (Caldecott, Dr. Seuss, and A to Z Picture Book Series), working at a children’s bookstore, and just because I enjoy those kinds of books anyway, 247 were picture books, including 9 board books.

My goal was to read at least 60 books that weren’t picture or board books and I ended up reading 77.

Being part of the #IMWAYR meme has been a great way to share some of my thoughts since I didn’t particularly enjoy Goodreads. My first #IMWAYR post was on June 25, 2012. Here are my most favorite books that I read over the past year- half of which were for children or young adults.

• The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly
• The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
• Peter Pan by J.M. Barrie
• Letters to a Young Poet by Rainer Maria Rilke (Reread)
• Charlotte’s Web by E.B. White (Reread)
• The Shadow of the Wind by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

You can read my About Me page for a complete updated list of my most favorite kids books or my other blog of my most favorite favorites books of all time.

What did I learn or take away from my Reading Challenges?

With the Dr. Seuss reading challenge, I have so much respect and admiration for the man now that I’ve actually read his books. I can understand why he is such a literary legend!

Because of the Caldecott reading challenge, I have a greater appreciation of the pictures in picture books- and the illustrators responsible for them. In some instances, the pictures were the only good thing about the stories. Some were truly works of art. I can’t wait to see which picture book gets this year’s honor!

I was surprised I picked up (and want to continue) my A to Z Picture Book Series reading challenge. It reminded me not to give up just because I didn’t meet my goal within a certain period. Plus, I’m still discovering books and authors I can’t stop raving about. With just a handful of letters left, I know I can complete it this year!

Some of my reading goals:
-Read at least 60 books that aren’t picture or board books
-Finish my A to Z Picture Book Series Reading Challenge
-Read all of Eric Carle books
-Read more local and new authors
-Buy from a local bookstore once a month
-Complete my Agatha Christie collection
-Read the books in my bookshelf

I want to get more out of the books I read. I also want to read more of the books we actually have in our store because I love recommending titles to our customers.

Some readings I attended in 2012 were for Trenton Lee Stewart, Mo Willems, Christopher Healy, and Jasper Fforde (who is one of my favorite writers ever and just released his first kids novel in the US last year, “The Last Dragonslayer.) I also enjoyed going to the Berta and Elmer Hader exhibit. I’m hoping to attend and/or participate in more activities focused on children’s literature in the upcoming year.

And, of course, I have my Commitment to Literacy, which is just my way of sharing the magic of reading with everyone!

So, here’s to the new year! Happy Reading!

 

Leave a Reply

 
