RSS

What Are You Reading?- January 6, 2013

06 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Happy New Year!

I took a break from posting any #IMWAYR posts during the holidays so it’s good to be back!

You can read about My Reading Life in 2012 which include my favorite books of last year and my reading goals for the year. Some notable books that I read during “my break” were:

wfw

-Waiting for Winter by Sebastian Meschenmoser- A customer was reading this picture book and was having a laughing fit. So, I had to check it out for myself and I enjoyed the hilarious story of a squirrel and his search of this “snow” he’s heard so much of. The illustrations were great, too!

bs

-Building Stories by Chris Ware- This graphic novel made it to a lot of year-end best-of lists. Housed in a box with 14 different pieces, the concept and the presentation were more interesting than the actual stories. It was at least a different reading experience and I’m all for that!

ac

-Apple Cake by Julie Paschkis- This charming picture book is part love story and part recipe. Everything about it just screamed cute.

I also posted some blogging goals. And, one of my main focus this year is my Commitment to Literacy. You can learn how your comments on this blog helps get books in children’s hands!

Working at a children’s bookstore continues to be quite enjoyable especially when I end up talking to equally passionate readers. The hot topic is the anticipation of which titles will be announced for the Caldecott, Newbery, and other children’s literature awards. I can’t wait until January 28th!

I’ve been busy with working a second job- which is actually my old job at an online bookbuying/bookselling company- and doing some Friends of the Library board tasks.

I also checked out a library exhibit of “Miniscules & Movable” displaying pocket-sized and wonderfully creative and beautiful pop-up/movable, and art books!

And, now, for the books I read this week- only two titles but both were enjoyable and great choices to start off a new reading year! I plan on finishing one other book about books and posting reviews on all three later this week so stay tuned for that.

otlb
-Open This Little Book by Jesse Klausmeier, Illustrated by Suzy Lee [*]

bc

-The End of Your Life Book Club by Will Schwalbe [**- Pick of the Week]

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I plan on finishing “My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop.” I also checked out some pictures books for my A to Z Picture Book Series Reading Challenge.

Oh, and I also sat myself down and finished a draft of a short story. My friend and I will be meeting once a month to share stories- our very own tiny Writers Group!

Happy Reading everyone!

 

13 responses to “What Are You Reading?- January 6, 2013

  1. Angie S.

    January 6, 2013 at 7:24 pm

    Waiting for Winter looks like a cute on to pick up!

     
  2. pamela

    January 6, 2013 at 10:09 pm

    I was reading about ‘The End of Your Life Book Club’ today. It sounds like a great read!

     
  3. Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

    January 6, 2013 at 10:13 pm

    “My Bookstore…” sounds really interesting. I am adding that one to my list. Open this Book has a darling cover illustration.
    Happy Reading!
    Rebecca @ The Key to the Gate

     
  4. Majanka Verstraete (@iheartreads)

    January 7, 2013 at 1:08 am

    Waiting for Winter and My Bookstore sound really fun! Enjoy reading!

    Find out what I’m reading this week!

     
  5. cjfriess

    January 7, 2013 at 1:39 am

    Apple Cake sounds like the perfect Valentine’s gift 🙂

     
  6. The Styling Librarian

    January 7, 2013 at 3:22 am

    Can’t wait to see Building Stories, put it on my order list. Really anticipating Open this Book, hearing about it all over the place!

     
  7. brokencookiesdontcount

    January 7, 2013 at 4:36 am

    The End of Your Life Book club sounds interesting. I keep thinking I should try it!

     
  8. LInda Baie (@LBaie)

    January 7, 2013 at 6:54 am

    They all sound so good, Earl, like Waiting for Winter. I envy you being right there in a bookstore!

     
  9. Hannahlily

    January 7, 2013 at 7:16 am

    Waiting for Winter is actually one of my very favorite picture books ever. You’re right, the illustrations are great! Building Stories looks SO intriguing, but I don’t think it’s the type of book that my library can buy for the collection…

     
  10. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    January 7, 2013 at 1:21 pm

    Waiting for Winter sounds adorable! I’m trying to make a point of reading more picture books this year. I started reading some toward the end of last year and I already have been using many of them as tie ins for the units and lessons I’m doing with my upper elementary kids.

     
  11. Myra GB

    January 7, 2013 at 3:45 pm

    Hi there Earl, your last two books is totally related to my Monday reading post which is all about books about books! How nice! I have to find “Open this little book” soon. Waiting for Winter also looks great, perfect for the season, I bet. I am also intrigued by the concept of Building Stories, and it’s a graphic novel, you say? How inventive. I hope I can find it in our libraries. 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your reading week!

     
  12. Gigi McAllister

    January 7, 2013 at 4:00 pm

    Such a great list! Really interested in Apple Cake, Building Stories and Open This Little Book. Thanks for sharing!

     
  13. LadyInRead (vidyatiru)

    January 7, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    all the covers look so cute.. i am adding them to my tbr

     

Leave a Reply

 
