RSS

Books about Books

12 Jan

I started the year off with reading two wonderful books about books.

The first one is called “Open This Little Book” by Jesse Klausmeier and illustrated by Suze Lee. I heard about it while commenting on someone else’s blog- of course, I can’t remember which one it was. I instantly had to get my hands on a copy. This is a great interactive story and I now enjoy recommending it to anyone who loves the many kinds of discoveries while reading a book. My only problem was the quality of the paper. It seems this won’t last long in the hands of excited young readers.

The second title, “The End of Your Life Book Club” by Will Schwalbe, is a touching tribute from a son to his mom, Mary Anne Schwalbe, who battled with cancer. It’s so much of a testament on how powerful words are- in the way they help us understand one another and also to bring us even closer together. During a promotional interview, he mentioned one of his mom’s attitudes:

“[B]ooks are calls to action. Sometimes they’re calls to action to do something very specific in the world… But sometimes they’re calls to action to see things differently, to treat people differently, to change the way that you move in the world … recognize things.”

That’s totally something I agree with. For the books I’m reading this year, aside from enjoying them or not, I’m trying to figure out what else I’ve gotten out of the words. I also believe that, as readers, we bring our own stories and experiences to the books we read. So, it’s always interesting to see what those were going in and what’s changed afterwards. That books are much more than just stories or information is why I have such a strong passion for literacy.

Reading “The End of Your Life Book Club” was like getting to be part of a very passionate book talk. I got excited when they discussed books I read- and loved- myself. I was reminded of titles on my to-read list and was introduced to some I wanted to get. This is a book I’m totally crazy about.

If these two books are any indication of what my reading year will consist of, I’m looking forward to it!

What have you read so far in 2013?

 

One response to “Books about Books

  1. Sue Jackson

    January 14, 2013 at 8:22 am

    Oh, I have been so excited to read End of Your Life Book Club – and your review made me want to read it even more! My TBR list is overflowing, but I really must get to that one – actually, it sounds perfect for a book group to read. Maybe I will suggest it to one of my two book groups.

    Sue

    Great Books for Kids and Teens

    Book By Book

     

Leave a Reply

 
