RSS

What Are You Reading?- January 14, 2013

14 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I know I’m a little bit late with this but, at least, it’s still Monday. I usually have these posts up by Sunday evening but I had to cook for 16 people. (Plus, I may have been catching up on Downton Abbey.)

Anyway, last week, I resumed volunteering again for the library and the Children’s Book Bank. I do love being surrounded by books at home, at work, for fun, and during volunteering. At the CBB, I was reminded of how much value people put into literacy. A single mom was there with her six-year-old daughter cleaning up books when they could have been home and her getting some rest before she had to go to her job working graveyard shifts. I told her I found it very impressive how she was setting such a great example for her kid- and others.

Speaking of the CBB, as of this posting, the tally of books I’ll be donating to them based on the number of replies on this blog so far this year is 16! (Read my Commitment to Literacy.)

Books Read

boi
-Bunnies on Ice by Johanna Wright [*]- I picked this up because we had the author/illustrator coming to our store for an event. I was so happy that I actually liked the book. It had a funny story with a great message. The best way I can describe the illustrations is “comforting.” A book is good when you immediately want to tell someone about it! Johanna Wright was a genuinely nice person and she packed the house! We had hot chocolate and everything. I thought people enjoyed themselves.

aab
-An Awesome Book! by Dallas Clayton [*]- I remember a customer, an art student, raving about this book. I was reminded of it when I saw his latest book (see below). I love books with inspiring messages and this one wasn’t sickeningly sweet. The words and the pictures were nice and whimsical.

aabol
-An Awesome Book of Love! by Dallas Clayton [X]- It’s probably because I read this one right after the other that I didn’t like it. This was too sweet for me. Yet, I’m still willing to read his other book “An Awesome Book of Thanks!” if I see it.

tw
-The Wikkeling- Steven Arnston, Illustrated by Daniela J. Terrazzini [*- My Pick of the Week]- This was a great find just ambling down the library aisles. It wasn’t at all what I was looking for but the fact it didn’t have a dust jacket caught my attention. And I desperately wanted to know what the Wikkeling was. Maybe because I was kind of disappointed with the explanation that I hope the author explores this world more in future books. As I’ve mentioned before, I love books about books. I also love stories within stories. The illustrations are worth checking out, too!

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I‘m still reading “My Bookstore: Writers Celebrate Their Favorite Places to Browse, Read, and Shop.” I also have pictures books for my A to Z Picture Book Series Reading Challenge. Plus, I want to start “ten Little Indians” by Sherman Alexie since that was (one of two of his books) chosen as my library’s “Everybody Reads” books.

Happy Reading everyone!

 

Leave a Reply

 
