RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – January 27, 2013

27 Jan
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

It was a rather busy work week at the bookstore since I covered my boss’ shifts while she went on vacation. Bookselling is truly one of my passions. A little girl said, “Thank you, Mr. Book Man.” to me after I rang her up. Another girl decided she had to show me her sparkly toe nails and proceeded to take off her boots. A boy also came in the store dressed up as an astronaut. No matter how tired I get, it’s exchanges like those that makes it all worthwhile.

I checked out an exhibit called Affective Duplication by a street artist calling himself The Reader aka Read More Books aka many other names to keep track of. I’m still not quite sure exactly what it was all about but it was interesting and pro-books and pro-reading so I decided to include it in my weekly wrap-up. Here are some pictures I took:

imwayr3

imwayr4

imwayr5

I also watched a documentary called The Big Picture: Rethinking Dyslexia. It was incredible to hear the misconceptions still of this learning disability and inspiring how dyslexics have learned to control it to become successful in various fields. I recommend that people watch this film.

I’ve decided to participate in Gathering Books’ Award Winning Books Reading Challenge 2013. I’ll write about this (and my other reading challenges) more on a later post. (I had thought I posted this already but apparently not. While this breaks my resolution to post twice weekly, I’m not going to beat myself up over it because life happens!)

imwayr6

I started attending a writers group of sorts with my friend. I was glad to have just completed a draft of a short story. It gave me confidence that I can actually write if I just do it. The whole process was exhilarating. I’m already looking forward to our next meeting!

As for my Commitment to Literacy, the number of books to be donated is up to 30!

Plus, it was a good reading week.

– Anton Can Do Magic by Ole Konnecke [*]- I was volunteering at the library when I ran into this story. An absolutely charming picture book. I hope to read more of Anton’s adventures!
-Brown Bear, Brown Bear, What Do You See? by Bill Martin, Jr., Illustrated by Eric Carle [*]- I’m sure I’ve read one or two Eric Carle books before but it’s been awhile. Like Dr. Seuss, I want to read all his books to get myself familiarized with his work. I’ll write more about this in the upcoming reading challenges post. But, with this book, I’m already won over by his illustrations.
-1, 2, 3 to the Zoo by Eric Carle [*]- This is another winning picture book by Eric Carle. There’s so much going on and I love the little details throughout this counting wordless book.
-The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle [**]- I remember having read this before but now I appreciate it more. I checked out various editions of this book and enjoyed every one.
imwayr7

-Everyone Poops by Taro Gomi, Translated by Amanda Mayer Stinchecum [*]- I finally read this highly recommended book and I can see why this is a favorite amongst so many people!
-Hereville: How Mirka Got Her Sword by Barry Deutsch [**- My Pick of the Week]- I was planning on reading this graphic novel when the second book came out late last year and the author was coming to speak at Powell’s but just didn’t get around to it. I enjoyed it so much I made a shelftalker for it for our store. (Sydney Taylor Award 2011)
imwayr1

imwayr2

-Weird Things Customers Say in Bookstores by Jen Campbell [X]- While I can relate to some examples and I did laugh out loud a few times, I felt like some of the stories were false to make the booksellers seem witty. Some reeked of bad customer service on my part.
-The Bird King by Shaun Tan [*]- This beautiful book provides a look inside the mind of one of the most talented artists I’ve come across recently.
-Hachiko by Pamela S. Turner, Illustrated by Yan Nascimbene [**]- Someone recommended this book and for the longest time I couldn’t find it. I fell in love with the story with its message of unwavering love, loyalty, and devotion. Heartbreaking and heartwarming at the same time.

My Rating Scale

X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I’m reading “Ten Little Indians” by Sherman Alexie and the second Hereville graphic novel. Plus I picked up some more books for my A to Z Picture Book Reading Challenge.

I’m excited about tomorrow’s announcements of the Newbery and Caldecott Awards tomorrow. Watch it live Monday, January 28th, 8AM PT.

Happy Reading everyone!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – January 27, 2013

  1. Lee

    January 28, 2013 at 1:36 am

    Earl,
    I worked in a bookstore for one holiday season and didn’t make any money. :). I haven’t heard of Hereville so I’m going to check that one out. Thanks for the recommendation. I got an ARC of The Bird King at NCTE and I love it. I’m glad to see someone else mentioning it.
    Lee

     
  2. Ms. Yingling

    January 28, 2013 at 1:41 am

    Thanks for the ALA links. My library lesson this week is on the various awards, even though they won’t be announced until after my first three classes! I always try not to care, but it’s the only really big event for school librarians.

     
  3. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    January 28, 2013 at 4:14 am

    Hereville sounds really good. I will have to look for it.

     
  4. Myra GB

    January 28, 2013 at 6:57 pm

    Wheeee! Welcome to the AWB Reading Challenge, Earl! It’s meant to be a fun challenge, no need to pressure yourself. I am looking forward to seeing what books you’d be sharing for the challenge, how exciting!

    Hereville looks like something I’d thoroughly enjoy, and I’m glad to hear about your adventures, Mr. Bookman. You should write something about it! And yes, Eric Carle can seem to do no wrong. 🙂 I hope I can collect all of his books someday. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
