RSS

Reading Challenges

31 Jan

I love a good reading challenge.

One of the firsts I started for myself was the A to Z Picture Book Series Challenge in 2011. In short, it was to read 26 authors (whose last names each began with a different letter of the alphabet) who have a children’s picture book series. Even unfinished, I didn’t realize I was going to carry it over to 2012- and into 2013! My latest update was in November 2012 but I only have to find authors for Q and X to complete it. I’ve been introduced to great authors and characters that I just adore. This has also been a fun way to talk to others and ask for recommendations.

I also did a Happiness Reading Challenge in 2011 in which I read one book with “happiness” as part of its title for each season that year. I ended up reading “Delivering Happiness” by Tony Hsieh, “The Art of Happiness” by the Dalai Lama and Howard C. Cutler, “The Happiness Project” by Gretchen Rubin, and “Stumbling on Happiness” by Daniel Gilbert. This was just to help me stay motivated and inspired throughout the year as I worked on my goals.

I took on a couple of reading challenges in 2012. I had also initially wanted to do the Newbery Challenge but I wouldn’t have had time to read the books I wanted to read!

With the Dr. Seuss reading challenge, I gained so much respect and admiration for the man now that I’ve actually read his books. I now truly understand why he is such a literary legend! I decided to read only the children books he both wrote and illustrated himself so that excluded “My Book About Me” and “I Can Draw It Myself” (which are both activity books anyway) as well as “The Cat and the Hat Songbook.” I decided not to read the books in which he used pen names. All in all, this was made up of 46 books- including 40 titles in the “the core Dr. Seuss collection”, the 4 books released after his death and his 2 books for older audiences- including “The Seven Lady Godivas” which I recommend everyone who’s a Seuss fan to check out!

Because of the Caldecott reading challenge, I developed a greater appreciation of the pictures in picture books- and the illustrators responsible for them. In some instances, the pictures were the only good thing about the stories. Some were truly works of art. It was a nice surprise that I had already read this year’s 2013 Caldecott winner- This is Not My Hat by Jon Klassen!

This year, I’ve decided to participate in Gathering Books’ Award Winning Books Reading Challenge. I’m going for the Platinum Award of reading over 35 qualifying titles!

imwayr6

And, I want to read all of Eric Carle’s books to fully appreciate them. Other writers I’ll be reading include Mo Willems and Oliver Jeffers but there’s no timeline with these two.

I also want to tackle my bookshelf, to read the books I’ve bought but haven’t read! Currently the titles are:

-The Listeners by Christopher Pike
-Remember Me (Omnibus) by Christopher Pike
-Until the End by Christopher Pike
-Bound to You by Christopher Pike
-To Die For by Christopher Pike
-The Woman Who Died A Lot by Jasper Fforde
-The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde

Not included are the Agatha Christie books since I want to complete my collection first before tackling them! My To-read list is so long, I already have future Reading Challenges!

What are your Reading Challenges?

 

One response to “Reading Challenges

  1. msyingling

    February 4, 2013 at 3:25 am

    I always forget what I am doing with challenges, so I kind of gave up. It looks like yours are doable, so good luck with them!

     

Leave a Reply

 
