RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – February 10, 2013

10 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Another great reading week, mostly just picking up books that caught my eye!

-Perfectly Percy by Paul Schmid [**]
-Hugs from Pearl by Paul Schmid [*]
When I unpacked “Perfectly Percy,” I immediately thought it was too cute not to read! I love the concept: Percy is a porcupine who loves balloons. “But HAPPY little porcupines with balloons are soon SAD little porcupines.” Kids will enjoy how he solves this particular problem!

When I realized it was a sequel, I just had to read the first book. Percy’s older sister, Pearl, loves giving hugs so you can guess what the conflict is. Maybe if I had read this first, I would have liked it better but I didn’t and I don’t. But it’s still cute- if not as cute!

An added bonus from reading these books. Paul Schmid is from Seattle. I’m trying to read more local/regional authors!

-You Are Stardust by Elin Kelsey, Illustrated by Soyeon Kim [**]- An incredibly beautiful picture book that introduces kids to atoms and how everything in the world is connected to one another. The mixed media illustrations are delightful! [Non-Fiction]

I saw this awesome video while checking out Elin Kelsey’s site. The video is called “We Are Star Dust” from Symphony of Science!

-Infinity & Me by Kate Hosford and Gabi Swiatkowska [*]- This was on display at our store and seemed fairly popular. And, because I’m trying to read more non-fiction picture books as well, I decided to check this out. This will get younger readers thinking about what infinity means to them but in a way that won’t terrify them or drive them insane! [Non-Fiction]

-Pancakes, Pancakes! by Eric Carle [*]
-The Tiny Seed by Eric Carle [*]
-Do You Want to Be My Friend? by Eric Carle [*]
Another trio of Eric Carle books. I’m really enjoying discovering his work for the first time. His books always seem to be vibrant and colorful even when the story’s about pancakes or the life of a seed. “Do You Want to Be My Friend?” is a great example of how to use page turns to create suspense. Plus, I learned that a wordless picture book like this is just one way to get kids ready to read since it introduces them the concept of a left-to-right linear sequence.

-Benny’s Brigade by Arthur Bradford, Illustrated by Lisa Hanawalt [*]- With its quirky story and fantastical illustrations, I can understand why this was one of the wildest children’s books of 2012!

-Sky High by Germano Zullo and Albertine [*]- This stood out because it’s one of those tall books. It’s a simple but amusing story of two people trying to outdo one another. Lots of details.

-Ten Little Indians by Sherman Alexie [**- My Pick of the Week]- I can’t believe how much I enjoyed this collection of short stories! Each one seemed to be better than the last! You can read my review here.

-The Wolves in the Walls by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Dave McKean [*]- This was recommended by a customer because it’s about conquering one’s fears. While the illustrations were unique, I’ve got to say I still haven’t read a book by Neil Gaiman that I actually like.

-I Saw a Peacock with a Fiery Tail by Ramsingh Urveti [*]- This was a unique book that I picked up since it was on display at the library. The illustrations are exquisite and I was introduced to the trick verse.

I Saw a Peacock with a Fiery Tail

I Saw a Peacock with a Fiery Tail

-The Onion’s Great Escape by Sara Fanelli [**]- This was the last of the five wildest books of 2012 that I read. The reader has to help an onion escape the frying pan by answering questions that require a bit of reflection. A section of each page can be torn revealing a liberated and grateful onion. Definitely worth a look! Check out the trailer here.

-My Brother’s Book by Maurice Sendak [*]- Not a children’s book although some of his children’s books are similar, this is a touching tribute to his brother- really, to anyone’s who has lost someone they love.

-Up, Tall and High by Ethan Long [*]- The latest recipient of the Theodor Seuss Geisel Award, this reminds me of Mo Willem’s Elephant and Piggie books. Great for beginning readers. They’ll enjoy the mini “lessons”presented here. (Theodor Seuss Geisel Award)

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

Commitment to Literacy= 40 books to be donated

I posted a write up of Stephen Savage’s visit to our store.

I’m going to try and not read too many books this week since I really need to focus on my writing! I did pick up “Arsenic and Old Puzzles” by Parnell Hall and I also started “Letters to a Young Teacher” by Jonathan Kozol.

Happy Reading!

 

11 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – February 10, 2013

  1. Emily

    February 10, 2013 at 3:34 pm

    I just finished Inheritance by Christopher Paolini. Now I’m reading A Dog Who’s Always Welcome. It’s about training for service dogs and similar training for your dog(s) at home.

     
    • Earl

      February 12, 2013 at 1:15 pm

      I think eventually I’ll cave and have to read Christopher Paolini. His books always seemed fascinating despite the fact I don’t really like fantasy. Would you say the last book wrapped the series nicely? For example, I didn’t like “Mockingjay” (nor the last half of “Catching Fire”) so it ruined the Hunger Games for me- such a great start to a series.

       
  2. Robin

    February 10, 2013 at 6:05 pm

    I’ve only read the first sixty pages of Ten Little Indians, but I’m so tempted to put it down… Truthfully, I didn’t like The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian either. It feels like Alexie tells readers what to think of characters rather than allowing them to connect the dots themselves, which I find makes for a bland read.

    One book that I liked quite a bit recently is Lisa O’Donnell’s The Death of Bees, about two young girls who bury their parents in the garden, and what ensues. It’s darkly humorous and surprisingly heart-warming, and I will be shocked if it’s not turned into a movie.

     
    • Earl

      February 12, 2013 at 1:22 pm

      My heart is like a sad panda sitting in the rain with no umbrella upon hearing your thoughts on Sherman Alexie’s books. 😀 The Death of Bees sounds slightly creepy but interesting and I may read it in the future.

       
  3. Lee Corey

    February 11, 2013 at 3:33 am

    I’m excited that my library has Infinity and Me so that I can get that one soon. I’ve put You are Stardust in my shopping cart – it sounds wonderful. Thanks also for embedding the video!

     
  4. vintagefrills

    February 11, 2013 at 7:59 am

    I love Eric Carle books and so do both my little girls. They are perfect for that pre reading age, where they can just about engage with the story or pictures.

     
  5. Myra GB

    February 11, 2013 at 8:01 am

    Hi there Earl, I enjoyed reading Infinity and Me – I love the predominantly monochrome illustrations and the fact that it dared tackle a topic as huge and timeless as the universe itself: forever! 🙂 You are Stardust also sounds beautiful.
    You’re not a Neil Gaiman fan? Awww. I love most of his works. And I do own a copy of The Wolves in the Walls and The Day I Swapped my Dad for Two Goldfish – I love his collaboration with Dave McKean who is simply a brilliant artist. You might want to read Gaiman’s “Instructions” as illustrated by Charles Vess – it just might appeal to your sensibilities more – I reviewed it here just in case you might want to take a looksie.
    http://gatheringbooks.wordpress.com/2011/09/22/neil-gaimans-instructions-as-illustrated-by-charles-vess/
    I’m also glad you like Eric Carle’s works – I have a growing collection of his books alongside Leo Lionni’s. 🙂

     
  6. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    February 11, 2013 at 5:35 pm

    Don’t know most of those Earl- going onto Goodreads right now 🙂

    Happy reading this week! 🙂

     
  7. Brunette Librarian

    February 11, 2013 at 6:17 pm

     
  8. LadyInRead

    February 12, 2013 at 4:41 pm

    I love Eric Carle and Benny’s Brigade sounds like something I should read soon..
    I read about the Peacock Tail book sometime back and it is great you were able to have a look at it.. I reviewed other books similar to that one on my blog a couple of weeks ago (The Sacred Banana Leaf is one of them)

     
  9. Linda Baie

    February 12, 2013 at 5:09 pm

    Those I didn’t know I put on my list, Earl. Thank you! I loved You Are Stardust, & will look for The Onion’s Great Escape-it does sound like a wild book! (The video is awesome. Don’t you think many of those images came from the Hubble?)

     

Leave a Reply

 
