RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – February 17, 2013

17 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I love books.

And, I’m so happy when I get to talk about books to others whether while volunteering or planning events to support the library or while working. Even if it’s just making signs for work, I feel lucky to have a chance to be creative.

This is a sign promoting our new story time. There's a robot reading a book!

This is a sign promoting our new story time. There’s a robot reading a book!

A new service we provide- Baby Shower Registry!

A new service we provide- Baby Shower Registry!

I’ve also been actively trying to make time to write.

-Little Raccoon’s Big Question by Miriam Schlein, Illustrated by Ian Schoenherr [*]- A friend recommended this picture book while I was volunteering. She bought this to date in behalf of her mom for International Book Giving Day. It’s a cute book with its story and message of love between mother and son and the adorable illustrations of the playful raccoon.

-The Pirate Girl’s Treasure by Peyton Leung, Illustrated by Hilary Leung [*]- I enjoy origami. This was a nice picture book that incorporated how to make a paper shirt and an actual story. I loved this particular illustration by Hilary Leung.

What books do you recognize? Image from The Pirate Girl's Treasure by Peyton Leung, Illustrated by Hilary Leung

What books do you recognize? Image from The Pirate Girl’s Treasure by Peyton Leung, Illustrated by Hilary Leung

-Gift Days by Kari-Lynn Winters, Illustrated by Stephen Taylor [*- My Pick of the Week]- I picked this picture book up based on its cover. Set in a village Uganda, it’s about a young girl whose days are filled with chores after her mother has died of HIV/AIDS. But she wants to learn how to read. I love the message that education is a key in facing these real-life challenges. This was definitely eye-opening. [Non-Fiction]

-Runny Babbit by Shel Silverstein [*]- Since Shel Silverstein is one of my Creative Inspirational Heroes (along with Walt Disney and Jim Henson and Dr. Seuss), I’ve decided to add him to the list of authors whose entire work I will read. This was a fun book and just an odd experience. Sometimes I read the poems as is (in “Runny Babbit” language) and sometimes I found myself automatically reading the text as it would normally be spelled out.

-The Reader by Amy Hest and Lauren Castillo [*]- This was a title I picked up while reading #IMWAYR blogs. It was cute enough about the love of reading and the friendship between a boy and his dog.

-Miss Little’s Gift by Douglas Wood, Illustrated by Jim Burke [*]- Another book about reading! I was going to write a blog post about why reading is so important but I’d be preaching to the choir. This picture book tackled the author’s experiences with having ADHD which led to many problems in school including difficulties with reading. But with a dedicated teacher’s help, he managed to overcome it. Helping find books that a reluctant reader would want to read is a crucial step. I loved the shout out to
the Caldecott-Medal recipient “The Little Island” by Margaret Wise Brown (using the pseudonym Golden Macdonald) with illustrations by Leonard Weisgard. [Non-Fiction]

-Who Wants a Cheap Rhinoceros? by Shel Silverstein [*]- I wasn’t familiar with this picture book. It was funny.

-My Dad Is the Best Playground by Luciana Navarro Powell [*]- I remember this board book getting mentioned a lot when it first came out and I’d been meaning to read it. It was rather cute. A companion book called “My Mom is the Best Circus” comes out March 26th.

-Rooster’s Off to See the World by Eric Carle [*]
-The Secret Birthday Message by Eric Carle [*]
I can’t stop talking about how amazing Eric Carle is to people! His stories somehow manage to be familiar and new at the same time. He always seems to be introducing some concept to the reader without being so obvious about it. I was excited to hear he was releasing a new book out (“Friends”) due this Fall.

-Arsenic and Old Puzzles by Parnell Hall [*]- Every year, I look forward to reading a new Puzzle Lady mystery. I love crosswords and I do prefer cozy mysteries a la Agatha Christie and Parnell Hall combines them into one laugh out loud package with this series. Plus, he literally has a way with words.

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

Commitment to Literacy= 51 books to be donated

I wrote about what one of my friends did for International Book Giving Day. I also added a new tab listing My Most Favorite Favorites. I hope you’ll share yours, as well.

I’m going to try and not start reading any new books since I want to get my list down.
1. Noli Me Tangere (Touch Me Not) by Jose Rizal
2. The Woman Who Died A Lot by Jasper Fforde
3. Castle Waiting by Linda Medley
4. Letters to a Young Teacher by Jonathan Kozol
5. Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz

Happy Reading!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – February 17, 2013

  1. Lee Corey

    February 17, 2013 at 4:31 pm

    Earl,
    I also enjoy origami, and I’m in Japan where there’s lots of great origami paper, so I look forward to checking out The Pirate Girl’s Treasure. Love your list of most favorite favorites. That looks like something fun to work on. Have a great reading week!

     
  2. Kristen H. (@bookgoil)

    February 18, 2013 at 6:16 am

    Castle Waiting is one of my favorite adult graphic novels. I really hope you enjoy that one! I’ve seen that Aristotle and Dante book all over blogs lately. Hope you enjoy all your books!

    What the Book Monsters are reading

     
  3. Myra GB

    February 18, 2013 at 6:17 am

    Hi Earl, very neat pictures you shared here, and I’m so glad to hear that you celebrated International Book Giving Day! Hooray! Wonderful. I hope you share your story about that as well.
    I know what you mean about Shel Silverstein – I just discussed his “Where the Sidewalk Ends” with my own book club for young readers last Sunday – have you visited his website? Lots of amazing downloadable resources for teachers and parents. And cute videoclips too. I also found a video clip of Shel singing with Johnny Cash on youtube – my book club participants had a blast hearing him sing. 🙂

     
  4. Hannahlily

    February 18, 2013 at 6:53 am

    oh, I just finished Aristotle and Dante! It’s amazingly good. Totally deserved all those awards, in my opinion.

     
  5. Linda Baie

    February 18, 2013 at 8:45 am

    I like the signs you made for your bookstore-what a nice place it must be! Love hearing about all the books, but I have especially noted The Pirate Girl’s Treasure. Sounds very good. I hope you like Kozol’s Letters to a Young Teacher-I remember liking it very much. Thanks, Earl!

     
  6. Hilary Leung

    February 19, 2013 at 1:35 am

    Wow, thank you for your kind words. Ha ha, I could tell you exactly which titles are sitting on that particular bookshelf.

    Interesting Fact: My picture book hero, Oliver Jeffers recently signed the blue one…
    http://hilaryleung.blogspot.ca/2013/02/top-28-picture-books-2.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
