RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – February 24, 2013

24 Feb
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

-Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Saenz [**- My Pick of the Week]- You can read my review of my 37th favorite favorite book here.

-Walter the Baker by Eric Carle [X]
-Have You Seen My Cat? by Eric Carle [*]
I’ve got to say the two Eric Carle books I read this week were lackluster. One was about pretzels and the other about cats, neither of which interest me. The only thing I enjoyed about “Walter the Baker” was the artist photo because it was Eric Carle in a chef attire cooking up pages of his books. “Have You Seen My Cat?” was only slightly better with its playful illustrations and showcasing the different kinds of cats.

-Don’t Bump the Glump!: And Other Fantasies by Shel Silverstein [*]
-Lafcadio: The Lion Who Shot Back by Shel Silverstein [*]
Reading Shel Silverstein’s lesser-known (at least to me) has been interesting. While I didn’t particularly enjoy “Don’t Bump the Glump!” because too much of nonsense loses its effect on me, I was fascinated to know it was Shel Silverstein’s first poetry collection and his only one with full-color illustration. And, I liked how he introduced himself as Uncle Shelby in many of his books.

I vaguely recall being read “Lafcadio” when I was in elementary school. His writing style and humor here is definitely the kind I like. I wonder if this would have been published nowadays with its shooting, killing, and smoking. But I’m glad Shel Silverstein wrote exactly what and how he wanted!

-Babymouse #1: Queen of the World! by Jennifer and Matthew Holm [*]- I wanted to see what the buzz was all about. Plus I had been meaning to read the series anyway since I’ve seen Matthew Holm support The Children’s Book Bank by being a celebrity contestant for their benefit. I’ll read anyone who supports literacy. This was a good introduction to the series and the characters.

My Rating Scale

X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

Commitment to Literacy= 59 books to be donated

I’ll probably finish reading “Letters to a Young Teacher” this week and perhaps start on “Creating Room to Read” by John Wood since my library request just came in!

Happy Reading!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – February 24, 2013

  1. bluestockingbb

    February 24, 2013 at 7:38 pm

    I’ve never heard of these.

    Here is mine

     
  2. Lee Corey

    February 25, 2013 at 12:58 am

    My library doesn’t have Aristotle and Dante so I suppose I’m going to have to buy it. I just keep hearing great things about it. Thanks for the recommendations (especially for the book to skip).

     
  3. Myra GB

    February 25, 2013 at 4:10 am

    Hi Earl, ‘Dont Bump the Glump’ was one of my nicest discoveries from last year. My daughter enjoyed it greatly at the time (she’s ten when she read it) – and yes, I loved the fact that it was the only book with full-color illustrations. We also borrowed quite a few Babymouse books, my daughter just ate them all up, but I haven’t had a chance to read the books myself. Fats is currently reading Aristotle and Dante and she seems to like it too. 🙂

     
  4. exploringallgenres

    February 25, 2013 at 5:56 am

    In all the times I read Shel Silverstein books growing up I don’t think I have ever heard of or seen those two. I think I might have to go check them out at some point if I can find them.

    Check out my Monday post.

     
  5. The Styling Librarian

    February 25, 2013 at 6:34 am

    Really enjoyed Lafcadio and introducing to students in the past along with The Missing Piece… Love those Babymouse books!

     
  6. Holly Mueller

    February 25, 2013 at 2:48 pm

    I haven’t read Aristotle and Dante yet, but looking forward to it!

     
  7. Lorna

    February 26, 2013 at 2:26 pm

    I’m usually a Shel Silverstein fan, but haven’t yet read Lafcadio . . . I need to check that out. Glad you and Babymouse finally got to meet. I enjoyed your review of Dante and Aristotle . . . it’s on my list!

     

Leave a Reply

 
