RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – March 3, 2013

03 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I wrote about some upcoming Literary Events in March and April. Did I miss any?

Here are some shelftalkers I made for work recently.

1

2

3

-Dream Friends by You Byun [*]- I read this over at We Give Books. It was a nice enough book but didn’t really leave a impression.

-Castle Waiting, Volume I by Linda Medley [*- My Pick of the Week]
-Castle Waiting, Volume II by Linda Medley [*]
I picked up volume one off the library’s staff pick shelf. I wasn’t sure what exactly what I was getting into. I don’t normally read graphic novels. And I thought this was going to be a straight up retelling of familiar fairy tales. Yes there are witches, spirits, giants, talking animals, and even a bearded nun. But, “Castle Waiting” is more a quiet tale of the occupants of a forgotten castle- and their various histories.

Apparently, the history of these Eisner-award winning graphic novels is quite mysterious. For example, the author didn’t want her name mentioned in the volumes. And there was/is the issue of her continuing and not continuing the series. As it stands, there’ll be an updated edition of the second volume to tie up loose ends- and she’s currently on a break from the series.

For someone who doesn’t usually like this kind of stuff, I did end up reading 800+ pages of it and will most likely search for the updated edition for closure. (Eisner Award 1998)

-Sense & Sensibility (BabyLit) by Jennifer Adams, Illustrated by Alison Oliver [*]
-Wuthering Heights (BabyLit) by Jennifer Adams, Illustrated by Alison Oliver [*]
You can read about my thoughts on this series of board books- BabyLit- here. I think the concept is cute and I like how the books are branching out. The first title is all about opposites. The second is about different kinds of weather accompanied by quotes from the book. http://www.greenbeanbookspdx.com/1/post/2012/12/youre-never-too-young-for-classics.html

-Open Very Carefully by Nick Bromley, Illustrated by Nicola O’Byrne [*]- I think young readers will enjoy this interrupted story concept and its bits of interactivity.

-Owl Know How by Cat Rabbit and Isobel Knowles [*]- This is another cute story with interesting illustrations made from felt and other recycled materials. I can see this become a series.

-Exclamation Mark by Amy Krouse Rosenthal and Tom Lichtenheld [*]- Sometimes we stand out even when we don’t want to. Sometimes we’re different regardless of how hard we try to fit in. Sometimes we need others to remind us that it’s OK just to be ourselves. That’s the point of this story.

-Take Me Out to the Yakyu by Aaron Meshon [*]-Baseball fans will enjoy this wonderful picture book as they compare and contrast their favorite sport that’s played in America and Japan. An English-Japanese translation of certain words is included in the back as well as a short reference guide of baseball in both countries. This is a great way to introduce a child to a different culture using a familiar subject.

-A Giraffe and a Half by Shel Silverstein [*]- A silly fun book.

-The Mixed-Up Chameleon by Eric Carle [*]- A hilarious book about accepting one’s self. I love that this was dedicated to all the children who helped him “write” it.

My Rating Scale

X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

Commitment to Literacy= 66 books to be donated

I’ll continue reading “Creating Room to Read” by John Wood. Most likely, I’ll also work my way through more Eric Carle books.

Happy Reading!

 

4 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – March 3, 2013

  1. Sarah

    March 4, 2013 at 9:53 am

    I recently picked up Castle Waiting as well on the recommendation of a friend’s book club. I had never heard of it, but was definitely intrigued. I love the little demons and spirits and other asides. The whole thing had a feel that reminded me of Jeff Smith’s work. I’ve only read the first volume, but will definitely be looking out for the revised second.

     
  2. Lorna

    March 4, 2013 at 10:26 am

    I’ve been intrigued by those BabyLit books . . . I’ll need to check them out sometime! And Exclamation Point is high on my list of picture books to read. Lots of Twitter love for that one!

     
  3. Myra GB

    March 5, 2013 at 3:50 pm

    Hi there Earl, I love the backstory that you shared about that award winning graphic novel. Like you, I tend to not really get into graphic novels much since I experience sensory overload with all those huge drawings and the action-packed animated illustrations – it’s an acquired taste, I think. I haven’t heard of this Eisner award-winning ones though and will definitely check them out. I’ve been reading a lot about Exclamation Point – it seems perfect for our current oddballs/misfits theme. 🙂 so will check that one out.

     
  4. cherylmahoney

    March 6, 2013 at 8:12 pm

    Wait…there’s a board book of Wuthering Heights? My brain just broke… Sense and Sensibility makes a slight amount of sense, and I’ve seen an adorable Pride and Prejudice counting book.

     

Leave a Reply

 
