RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – March 10, 2013

10 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!


-A Splash of Red by Jen Bryant, Illustrated by Melissa Sweet [*- My Pick of the Week]- “Pictures just come to my mind and I tell my heart to go ahead.” Quotes by Horace Pippen pepper this picture book of the celebrated artist. Jen Bryant tells the life of someone with a dream and desire to paint who needed to drop out of school to help out his family and who was wounded in his right arm as a WWI soldier. His determination to not let these things stop him is inspiring! Melissa Sweet’s illustrations are eye-catchingly beautiful. [Non-Fiction]

-Oscar and Hoo by Theo, Illustrated by Michael Dudok de Wit [*]- A beautifully illustrated picture book about a boy who gets separated from his parents in the desert and then befriends a cloud.

-The Grouchy Ladybug by Eric Carle [*]
-The Very Busy Spider by Eric Carle [*]
-Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me by Eric Carle [*]
These three Eric Carle books have impressed me again with the combination of wonderful storytelling and introducing concepts in a unique ways. The Grouchy Ladybug incorporates the passage of time as the titular character meets bigger and bigger animals to pick fights with. The Very Busy Spider has a tactile element as readers can actually feel the progress of the web being created. Papa, Please Get the Moon for Me talks about the phases of the moon with pages the open up and outward. Of course, there’s usually something more to these stories which you’ll just have to read.

-Not Your Typical Dragon by Dan Bar-el, Illustrated by Tim Bowers [*]- I read this on We Give Books. It was a surprisingly cute story about a dragon who has marshmallows, teddy bears, bubbles, and everything-else-but-fire coming out of its mouth!

-Fifty Cents and a Dream by Jabari Asim, Illustrated by Bryan Collier [*]- I saw this on another #IMWAYR blog a few weeks ago. I love books about reading and education and this didn’t disappoint. I appreciated the author and illustrator notes in the back, as well as brief history of Booker T. Washington and a timeline of life. [Non-Fiction]

-Ollie’s Easter Eggs by Olivier Dunrea [*]
-Gossie & Gertie by Olivier Dunrea [*]
-Gideon by Olivier Dunrea [*]
-Gideon & Otto by Olivier Dunrea [*]
-Peedie by Olivier Dunrea [*]
-Jasper & Joop by Olivier Dunrea [*]
I’m so excited when I find books I can share with the customers at the children’s bookstore where I work. These sweet and short stories about a group of goslings are adorable for pre-K readers ready to explore the world.

-All Through My Town by Jean Reidy, Illustrated by Leo Timmers [*]- Simple texts and colorful illustrations will entertain pre-K audience. The details in the pictures will give older children another level of enjoyment. A great book to inspire an exploration of one’s neighborhood!

-Rain! by Linda Ashman, Illustrated by Christian Robinson [*]- What a delightful discovery! This is a cross-generational, multiracial story of an old man and a young boy who have different reactions to the rain. It also speaks of what a simple act of kindness can do.

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

Commitment to Literacy= 70 books to be donated

I’ll probably finish reading “Creating Room to Read” by John Wood. But I also did just buy “Thirst No. 5: The Sacred Veil” by Christopher Pike so I’ll be reading that as well!

Happy Reading!

 

11 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – March 10, 2013

  1. Maria

    March 10, 2013 at 9:01 pm

    I think I need to get back on reading Children’s books. But I have Narnia on my shelf. Happy reading 🙂

    my IMWAYR

     
  2. Crystal (@librarygrl2)

    March 11, 2013 at 12:03 am

    I keep seeing good things about A Splash of Red. I am going to have to find a copy.

     
  3. Erin@Quixotic Magpie

    March 11, 2013 at 6:12 am

    Aww, Not Your Typical Dragon sounds cute, and like one we need in our library. Our students love dragons. Have a great week!

     
  4. LisaILJ

    March 11, 2013 at 9:12 am

    I really need to read more children’s books. All through My Town and the Dragon book sound so cute. My niece is loving Dragons Love Tacos, so I may get that to add to her dragon collection. Thanks for visiting my Monday post.

    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble For YA

     
  5. Majanka Verstraete (@iheartreads)

    March 11, 2013 at 10:58 am

    Not Your Typical Dragon sounds like a cute, great book. A Splash of Red suonds intriguing as well. Enjoy reading!

    Take a look at what I’m reading this week!

     
  6. Tara Smith

    March 11, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    Those are some of my favorite Eric Carle books, too – the art work is beyond amazing.

     
  7. Lorna

    March 11, 2013 at 12:18 pm

    Looks like loads of good and great books this week! Lots on your list I’m looking forward to reading, but especially A Splash of Red and 50 Cents and a Dream!

     
  8. Myra GB

    March 11, 2013 at 5:53 pm

    Hi there Earl, I bought Eric Carle’s Papa Get the Moon for Me for my 3 year old niece – and it remains one of her favorite storybooks to date. I just borrowed this lovely book by Jen Bryant and Melissa Sweet (A River of Words) and I am excited to feature it as well for Nonfiction Monday. It’s the first time I heard of Olivier Dunrea – will have to check those books out. 🙂

     
  9. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    March 11, 2013 at 8:38 pm

    I’m so intrigued by A Splash of Red! Definitely going to look for it. I love Melissa Sweet.

     
  10. littlebearries

    March 12, 2013 at 5:30 pm

    I love that there seems to be a lot of picture books on this What Are You Reading Monday.

    http://littlesqueed.blogspot.com/2013/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading.html

     
  11. Bettina Grissen

    March 12, 2013 at 11:30 pm

    Looks like you read some amazing books, I love seeing how divers and rich (childrens) literature is.

    Kind regards,

     

Leave a Reply

 
