RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – March 24, 2013

24 Mar
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Commitment to Literacy= 91 books to be donated

Another busy work for me! I organized an event for the Friends of the Multnomah County Library to help raise funds and get book donations. It was fun. Portlanders definitely love their libraries!

Anne Mazer stopped by our store. My boss had made a diorama of “The Salamander Room” and she went to look at it. She and her daughter were incredibly nice and so much fun to talk about books with!

anne mazer

salamander room

-Tashi by Anna Fienberg and Barbara Fienberg, Illustrated by Kim Gamble [*]
-Tashi and the Giants by Anna Fienberg and Barbara Fienberg, Illustrated by Kim Gamble [*]
The Tashi series is quite a bestseller in our store. I’ve always wondered who or what he exactly is. So, I finally picked one up- and I’ll probably end up reading the whole series. The books tell the adventures of a boy named Jack and his gnome-like friend, Tashi. Parents may find some situations a little scary for the youngest of readers and may not really like the sort of sarcastic tone of Jack but, once they look past those, the books are really about facing your fears and using your wits (sometimes with the help of your friends) to get out of trouble.

-There Was an Old Lady Who Swallowed a Fly by Jeremy Holmes [*]- Here’s a familiar story but presented in such a quirky, beautiful way! The book is shaped like the old woman and comes in a removable slipcase- her coat. Eyes that open and close makes this a perfect oddball gift.

-I See a Song by Eric Carle [*]- This book may be hard to find. It reminded me of the movie “Fantasia.” Except for a few words by the conductor, this is a mostly wordless picture book but a real visual treat.

-Ollie by Olivier Dunrea [*]
-Ollie the Stomper by Olivier Dunrea [*]
-Boo Boo by Olivier Dunrea [*]
With his simple storytelling style and expressive illustrations, it’s no wonder he’s my current favorite board book writer I like to recommend to our customers.

-The Salamander Room by Anne Mazer [*- My Pick of the Week]- Such a sweet story! After I read this, I couldn’t stop recommending it to people. A perfect bedtime read reminiscent of “If You Give a Mouse a Cookie” with its cause and effect structure.

-If You Hold a Seed by Elly MacKay [*]- I was so impressed by how beautiful this picture was. Her unique “paper theater” illustrations add a sort of magical touch to the story’s wonderful message.

-Letters to a Young Teacher by Jonathan Kozol [*]- One my favorite books ever is Rilke’s “Letters to a Young Poet” and I’ve always been interested in becoming a teacher so I picked this book up. While there were lots of disturbing and shocking and eye-opening facts about the educational system, I wasn’t turned off by the profession. There were also cute stories about students and inspiring examples of teachers (and other people) making a difference. I just didn’t really like the format at all.

My Rating Scale
X= Skip it!
*= Liked it
**= Recommended

I’ll probably finish reading “Thirst No. 5: The Sacred Veil” by Christopher Pike and I started on “The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle” by Christopher Healy!

Happy Reading!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – March 24, 2013

  1. Teddyree

    March 25, 2013 at 4:17 am

    I picked up some of the Tashi series for my niece, she loves them! Have a wonderful week and happy reading 🙂

     
  2. Sheila (Book Journey)

    March 25, 2013 at 5:31 am

    You gave me some great titles to look for!

     
  3. Myra GB

    March 25, 2013 at 8:10 am

    Hi there Earl, good to hear about the events in your store. I haven’t heard of Tashi so I’m intrigued. I’m always keen to know which Eric Carle books you’d be sharing every Monday – this is one I haven’t heard of yet, and as I am a huge fan of wordless picture books, I’d probably look for I see a Song. Haven’t heard of The Salamander Room either, thanks for sharing all these titles.

     
  4. Lorna

    March 25, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    I LOVE the Salamander Room and that diorama looks adorable–so cool that Anne got to see it! I haven’t heard of the Tashi series, so I’ll be looking to check those out, soon!

     
  5. Susan Dee (@literacydocent)

    March 25, 2013 at 12:57 pm

    I loved If You Hold a Seed. The illustrations are breathtaking! I also enjoy anything Anne writes. How fun that she stopped by!

    Happy Reading!

     
  6. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    March 25, 2013 at 8:35 pm

    I read Spilling Ink by Anne Mazer but haven’t read any of her other books! Salamander Room looks great and now I’m intrigued to read her other titles, too. Thanks for sharing all of your reading!

     
  7. littlebearries

    March 29, 2013 at 7:03 pm

    A very cute set of reads! And wow… an impressive number of donated books!

    http://littlesqueed.blogspot.com/2013/03/its-monday-what-are-you-reading_25.html

     

Leave a Reply

 
