RSS

Review: Thirst No. 5: The Sacred Veil

28 Mar

Thirst No. 5: The Sacred Veil
By Christopher Pike

thirst 5

There’s a fellow Christopher Pike fan I’ve gotten to know while working at the bookstore. I emailed him recently with my thoughts on Thirst No. 5: The Sacred Veil. As I was typing, I realized I could use it as my review so here it is:

I just finished Thirst 5. I literally OMG’ed when I reached the end. I may have told you The Last Vampire series has never been a particular favorite of mine but over the years I have grown to become fond of Sita (and Seymour!) Our 5000+ year old heroine puts other vampires to shame. She kicks butt and gets things done. She’s compassionate but not emotionally needy.

Reading Thirst 5 or The Last Vampire 9 gave me a sense of deja vu at a couple points in the story. While some may say the story has come full circle, I felt it already did that- at the end of TLV6 and TLV8/T4- and now again.

I was also never a fan of going back in time as a storytelling structure. And this installment not only did that but it went another level. I loved the callbacks to the other books though- how Christopher Pike tried to make everything make sense. I can believe it when Pike says that it’s Sita who tells him her story and not the other way around. She has such a unique voice.

I really enjoyed seeing the progression of Sita and Seymour’s relationship. It’s very rare to see that kind of friendship in books.

I think the thing that sets TLV (or most of Pike’s books for that matter) apart from the rest is the strong spiritual elements he incorporates into his stories. Again, this is rare- even nowadays in the Young Adult (let alone YA Paranormal) genre, especially when he was doing this way back in the 90’s!

While I didn’t “absolutely love” it as you did, I did enjoy it. I wish he would write a standalone novel so I can have a sense of closure when I finish one of his books.

Pike has created something special with Sita and I want more people to know about her.

 

One response to “Review: Thirst No. 5: The Sacred Veil

  1. Redhead

    March 28, 2013 at 4:12 pm

    Oh Wow this brings back memories! I was a HUGE Christopher Pike fan in the 90s.

     

Leave a Reply

 
