RSS

A Bookish Birthday

21 Apr

I’m currently on a Vegas vacation for my birthday so you know what that means, right? Books!

I took my younger brothers and nephews to Plaza Books. I did the same thing last year when I first discovered this little used bookstore at a strip mall on the corner of Eastern and Warm Springs. I enjoyed recommending titles based on what was in stock. The staff continued to be friendly and knowledgeable about their inventory.

I loved seeing the kids read once we got home. I asked them to share what one of their favorite books were and why. (Because I really am that kind of person!)

Here’s what they typed.

bignate
My favorite book is Big Nate: In a Class by Himself [by Lincoln Peirce.] I like it because it has chapters and it has a lot of pages. I like books a lot because I love reading everyday.
-Julian, 7

perks
My favorite book is The Perks of Being a Wallflower [by Stephen Chbosky.] I like it because it is very detailed and is really interesting. There is a lot of things in the book that are true.
-Angelo, 12

reptile
My favorite book is The Reptile Room [by Lemony Snicket.] I like it because it is very witty and has a good story. Also, most of the characters are likeable.
-Jordan, 10

jackie
My favorite book is Jackie & Me [by Dan Gutman] because it has a good message and a good history behind it.
-Alex, 14

Asking young readers what books they love is always fun. What are some books the kids in your life enjoy- and why?

 

4 responses to “A Bookish Birthday

  1. Lee Corey

    April 22, 2013 at 3:29 am

    Love the students’ recommendations. Happy Birthday!

     
    • Earl

      April 25, 2013 at 10:32 am

      Thanks, Lee! I wish I were a teacher but I’m not (yet.) Not students just younger brothers or nephews. 😀

       
  2. Lindsey

    April 25, 2013 at 10:27 am

    You took them to the bookstore for your birthday?? You are a great aunt/sister.

    Let’s see…David loves The Magic Treehouse series and The Boxcar Children right now. He’s also a big fan of anything about dinosaurs and we are reading through Mary Poppins at the moment.

     
    • Earl

      April 25, 2013 at 10:34 am

      Those are popular books in the bookstore where I work. Easy to recommend and kids love them. (I’m a pretty good uncle and brother. I mean, I try my best!) Thanks!

       

Leave a Reply

 
