RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – April 28, 2013

28 Apr
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

It’s been a few weeks since I’d participated in #IMWAYR but I’m glad to be back. I took time to go back through the comments left on this blog and repaid by commenting on other readers’ sites. Now I feel relatively caught up!

I’m changing the format of this week’s reviews since I’m including three weeks worth of reading- although I didn’t finish one at all last week while I was on vacation!


I created a Facebook page for this blog.
I hope you’ll like it! I may be able to use it to better record my thoughts on the books I’m reading and to share things I find interesting or relevant that aren’t enough to write a post about. Because of that, every like the page gets (through the end of 2013) will be added to the number of books to be donated as part of my Commitment to Literacy.

chronicles

I shared a little bit of what I did for my birthday– which was give books as presents.

But it was a Bookish Birthday Week so I wrote about that as well.

I posted my Library Story and I’m inviting everyone to share why libraries are important to them!

Commitment to Literacy= 123 books to be donated

-Babymouse #4: Rock Star [**]
-Babymouse #5: Heartbreaker [**]
-Babymouse #6: Camp Babymouse [*]
-Babymouse #7: Skater Girl [*]
By Jennifer Holm, Illustrated by Matthew Holm
Review: The Babymouse series continues to be fun reads. I love the literary and movie references peppered throughout.
Category: Children’s Graphic Novel

-T is for Terrible by Peter McCarty [**]
Review: This was a nice find. I enjoyed the message that sometimes you can’t help but be who you are and that’s OK.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-The Boy and the Airplane by Mark Pett [**]
boyplane
Review: This wordless picture book soars with imagination and heart!
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-I Scream, Ice Cream by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, Illustrated by Serge Bloch [**]
Review: Fun wordplay involving breaking down of similar sounding phrases.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-Bluebird by Bob Staake [*]
Review: A story told only through striking illustrations. Very heavy subject matter.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-The Heart in the Bottle [*]
-Up and Down [**]
-Stuck [**]
By Oliver Jeffers
Review: I’m learning to appreciate Oliver Jeffers’ style, both writing and illustration. I like how he can go from poignant to silly. I’ve found myself recommending him more to customers.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-Fancy Nancy: Fanciest Doll in the Universe by Jane O’Connor and Robin Preiss Glasser [*]
Review: Part of my Reading Challenge, this latest installment doesn’t leave the formula that has made the other titles so popular.

-That is Not a Good Idea! by Mo Willems [*]
Review: I liked the idea of telling the story like how those silent movies played out. Funny but predictable.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-Vader’s Little Princess by Jeffrey Brown [*]
Review: I had been looking forward to this since I heard it was being worked on. It’s funny but the novelty of it (after “Darth Vader and Son”) wore off a little.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-Peace by Wendy Anderson Halperin [***]
Review: Using mostly inspirational quotes, this is a great book to create conversations about peace, goodwill and kindness. The illustrations on each page tell multiple storylines so it’s useful to pay attention. Kids can enjoy going back and follow the sequences themselves.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-The Last Dragonslayer by Jasper Fforde [***- My Pick of the Week]
Review: I don’t know why I kept procrastinating reading this! “The Last Dragonslayer” is a great introduction to Jasper Fforde for young adults. I love the humor but I know it isn’t for everyone. I would recommend it to fans of the Harry Potter series.
Category: Middle Reader Fantasy Novel

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading an ARC of Khaled Hosseini’s “And the Mountains Echoed.” I want to read more Eric Carle, Oliver Jeffers, and Babymouse books!

Happy Reading!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – April 28, 2013

  1. Sheila (Book Journey)

    April 28, 2013 at 7:50 pm

    OOH I am so excited about that new Khaled Hosseini book!

     
  2. faith hope & cherrytea

    April 28, 2013 at 7:55 pm

    like the fb page for your blog idea ! well done & hapPy celebrating your B’day!!

     
  3. Book Blather

    April 29, 2013 at 1:23 am

    Gosh I hadn’t realised Jasper Fforde had written a YA series, I shall have to find out more! Have a great reading week. 🙂

     
  4. Lee Corey

    April 29, 2013 at 4:34 am

    I always enjoying reading your IMWAYR posts and now I look forward to your FB updates! Thanks for all of the recommendations and the rating system.

     
  5. Kathy Martin

    April 29, 2013 at 5:39 am

    You read a nice variety of books. I haven’t heard of that one by Mo Willems and will have to look for it. Happy reading!

     
  6. Erin @Quixotic Magpie

    April 29, 2013 at 5:16 pm

    I love that you gave books away as part of your birthday celebration – how very Hobbit of you! 🙂

     
  7. Audrey (Bibliosaurus Text)

    April 29, 2013 at 6:17 pm

    Your books are all new to me, except for the Jasper Fforde. It’s super cute that you gave books away for your birthday. I’m always trying to get people to read by giving them books, too. It makes the world smarter!

     
  8. Christina T

    April 29, 2013 at 6:29 pm

    So jealous that you are reading an ARC of And the Mountains Echoed. I love Khaled Hosseini’s writing! I want to read Vader’s Little Princess too. I thought Darth Vader and Son was adorable.

     
  9. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    April 29, 2013 at 7:11 pm

    Happy birthday! Birthdays and books sounds like a great combination! I haven’t read either of the Vader books but we love Star Wars in our house so I might have to look for them.

     
  10. Lindsey

    April 30, 2013 at 8:21 am

    I love Fforde’s Thursday Next series. I will have to keep his YA series in mind for the little guy when he gets a bit older.
    Have a fantastic week!

     
  11. The Styling Librarian

    April 30, 2013 at 9:11 am

    Good to know about The Last Dragonslayer, it was added to my library but I haven’t read it yet. Interesting to see your stars and point of view on the books we both have read! Happy reading this week!

     
  12. Jo

    May 6, 2013 at 9:28 pm

    I have Vader’s Little Princess requested at the library. I’m kinda sad to hear that the novelty has dimmed.

     

Leave a Reply

 
