RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – May 5, 2013

05 May

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!


Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I finished my Oliver Jeffers Reading Challenge. Read the recap here.

I wrote a couple of book reviews on another one of my blogs- Library Hopping. Both are children’s books about Pack Horse Librarians. One is non-fiction co-written by Kathi Appelt. The other is picture book illustrated by David Small.

Commitment to Literacy= 137 books to be donated

-Babymouse #8: Puppy Love [**]
-Babymouse #9: Monster Mash [**]
-Babymouse #10: The Musical [***]
-Babymouse #11: Dragonslayer [ ***]
-Babymouse #12: Burns Rubber [**]
-Babymouse #13: Cupcake Tycoon [**]
-Babymouse #14: Mad Scientist [*]
By Jennifer Holm, Illustrated by Matthew Holm
Review: This set included probably two of the strongest books in the series- The Musical and Dragonslayer- because of the themed fantasies. It also contained one of the least enjoyable one for me- Mad Scientist. It was like watching a sitcom trying to spinoff a new series. In this case, this was their other series character’s introduction- Squish. I enjoyed the “hidden” humor pepper throughout the books for those readers who pay attention to details.
Category: Children’s Graphic Novels

-The Hueys in The New Sweater [**]
-This Moose Belongs to Me [*]
By Oliver Jeffers
Review: I wrote about Oliver Jeffers here. I liked the humor in The Hueys and his illustrative style for This Moose Belongs to Me.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-My Apron [*]
-The Very Lonely Firefly [***- My Pick of the Week]
By Eric Carle
Review: My Apron is based on Eric Carle’s childhood experience. I liked the part after the story where he talks about the art of the book. The Very Lonely Firefly completes Eric Carle’s VERY quartet. I love how his books seem to always provide insights into why he wrote them.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-Line 135 by Germano Zullo, Illustrated by Albertine [**]
Review: This new book reminds us not to let ourselves lose the wonder and curiosity we had as children. I enjoyed the transformations in the drawings.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

-That Book Woman by Heather Henson, Illustrated by David Small [**]
Review: I forgot to mention that I read Down Cut Shin Creek by Kathi Appelt and Jeanne Cannella Schmitzer [***] a few weeks ago. Reviews of both these books are reviewed on my other blog, Library Hopping.
Category: Children’s Picture Books

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading an ARC of Khaled Hosseini’s “And the Mountains Echoed” and I restarted Jasper Fforde’s “The Woman Who Died A Lot.” I’m hoping to finish the Babymouse series this week.

Happy Reading!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – May 5, 2013

  1. Erin @Quixotic Magpie

    May 6, 2013 at 4:55 am

    My kids at school love the Babymouse books!

    Have a great week!

     
  2. Linda Baie

    May 6, 2013 at 5:10 am

    Eric Carle is just one of the best, isn’t he? All of those books are delightful. I love those books about people carrying books, like Down Cut Shin Creek-what a gift they gave! Thanks for the Babymouse titles-I’ve read many, but you are mentioning more! Thanks, Earl!

     
  3. Kathy Martin

    May 6, 2013 at 6:06 am

    My students – especially the youngest ones – love Babymouse. I haven’t read any myself because they are usually checked out. Come see what I read and happy reading!

     
  4. Myra GB

    May 6, 2013 at 7:36 am

    Hi Earl, I’m glad to see that you also enjoyed This Moose Belongs to Me – for some reason, that book spoke to me deeply. I loved it. Challenges the very notion of ownership and things we call ‘ours’ may simply be another Rodrigo. 😛 I do hope you get to enjoy our current theme, I would be featuring quite a number of award-winning picture books from the Philippines. We do have quite a few Filipinos in diaspora who are making a mark in children’s lit and YA fiction. Our soon-to-be-launched book contains chapters from these talented artists – check out the works of Isabel ‘Pepper’ Roxas – she’s now based in New York, illustrates for Ladybird, and she created our masterful book cover. UK-based Candy Gourlay has likewise been shortlisted for the Carnegie for her YA fiction Tall Story – I’m sure you must have a copy of that book there – or don’t you?

     
    • Earl

      May 11, 2013 at 11:16 pm

      I just found out we have Tall Story here so I’m going to check that out as soon as I get to the library. Thanks for sharing your knowledge with me! I appreciate it!

       
  5. Lorna

    May 6, 2013 at 9:42 am

    Some of your favorite Babymouse titles from this week are also my favorites. Yay, for Eric Carle! I’m hoping to head down to Tacoma to see the exhibit of some of his own (non-book) related art work. And thanks for sharing the Zullo title! I LOVED Little Bird.

     
  6. Holly Mueller

    May 6, 2013 at 2:32 pm

    I just love Babymouse, and I agree that the Musical one and Dragonslayer are two fo the best!

     
  7. Jen G. (The Introverted Reader)

    May 6, 2013 at 6:06 pm

    I’m excited about And the Mountains Echoed! I’ve lost track of Jasper Fforde over the past couple of years, but I loved the early books in his Thursday Next series. Enjoy your week!

     
  8. Audrey (Bibliosaurus Text)

    May 7, 2013 at 6:04 pm

    I’m interested to hear about The Woman Who Died A Lot because of the strange title. I hope it’s good!

     

Leave a Reply

 
