RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – May 12, 2013

12 May
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

A craft project I suggested for our store of a mama monkey and her child!

A craft project I suggested for our store of a mama monkey and her child!

Happy Mother’s Day!

I don’t think I can remember a time when I wasn’t ever without books. I would like to thank my mom and my grandmothers for that. We weren’t particularly rich but we always had shelves lined with books. Sets of classics every kid must have. Complete encyclopedia collections. I don’t think I would have been so passionate about books and literacy if I weren’t encouraged at such a young age to be a reader!

I wrote about some Summer Reading programs that kids can participate in.

Commitment to Literacy= 151 books to be donated

-Babymouse #15: A Very Babymouse Christmas [**]
-Babymouse #16: Babymouse for President [**]
-Babymouse #17: Extreme Babymouse [*]
By Jennifer Holm, Illustrated by Matthew Holm
Review: I wasn’t particularly impressed by this set of Babymouse books. I found Extreme Babymouse extremely frustrating to read. With that said, having read all the books, I am looking forward to the next installment coming this September- Happy Birthday Babymouse! She is a great book loving and imaginative character that I think kids can relate to.

-The New Arrival by Vanya Nastanlieva [**]- This is an absolutely cute book about a hedgehog who has to find a place to live and also goes in search for friends. I love the supporting characters and the way the dialogue is represented.

-Hedgehog’s Magic Tricks by Ruth Paul [*]- Another hedgehog book so it goes without saying it’s also cute! I didn’t like the ending. His friends just seemed greedy to me. This would be great as a board book though.

-I Dreamt . . .: A Book About Hope by Gabriela Olmos, Translated by Elisa Amado; Illustrated by various people [***]- Originally published in Mexico, this book helps raise awareness of what kids in many countries are unfortunately facing- violence, harassment, etc. Multiple illustrators lent their talents to this project of hope. It introduced me to the term bibliotherapy defined as the use of books and other reading materials to help with personal problems and difficult situations.

-What Happens When… by Delphine Chedru [**]- This is a fun book sure to get kids’ imaginations running. What happens when night falls and our shadows disappear? This is just an example question and the opposite page folds out to reveal one possibility!

-A Funny Little Bird by Jennifer Yerkes [**] On one hand, this wasn’t what I had originally expected so I was disappointed. On the other hand, I was pleasantly surprised by what this picture book turned out to be.

-And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini [****- My Pick of the Week]- The Kite Runner is one of my favorite books. And the Mountains Echoed is better. I’ll write a review closer to the release date of May 21st. But it is so good!

-Little Cloud by Eric Carle [**]- Another cute story by Eric Carle. I like how, on the most basic level, his stories are entertaining. But there’s also some depth to them as well if one wanted to analyze them.

-See a Heart, Share a Heart by Eric Telchin [***]- I read this book over at We Give Books for Mother’s Day. It’s a simple book of found hearts and short text but such a great message to pay attention to the world around us. Also worth checking out is the author’s website- Boy Sees Hearts.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading Jasper Fforde’s The Woman Who Died A Lot. I’m hoping to read more Eric Carle books. I also picked up Tall Story by Candy Gourlay, suggested by Myra of Gathering Books.

Happy Reading!

 

7 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – May 12, 2013

  1. shelleyrae @ Book'd Out

    May 12, 2013 at 10:54 pm

    I’m looking forward to reading And The Mountains Echoed

    Have a great reading week

    Shelleyrae @ Book’d Out

     
  2. Teddyree

    May 12, 2013 at 10:59 pm

    And the Mountains Echoed is on my wishlist, glad you enjoyed it. Very cute monkey craft project. Have a great week and happy reading 🙂

     
  3. Majanka

    May 13, 2013 at 1:12 am

    And The Mountains Echoed sounds great. Haven’t read The Kite Runner yet, but heard so many awesome things about it.

    Enjoy!

    Here’s what I’m reading this week.

     
  4. Myra GB

    May 13, 2013 at 5:42 am

    Wow, a new Hosseini book! Have you read “A Thousand Splendid Suns?” I thought that one was better than Kiterunner, although I enjoyed the latter too. Will have to check that out. It should fit our current Asian theme as the Middle East is still considered part of Asia. I hope you enjoy Tall Story! Candy will be coming here to Singapore to visit us again for the Asian Festival of Children’s Content. That’s going to be really exciting.

     
  5. Erin @ Quixotic Magpie

    May 13, 2013 at 9:08 am

    Aww The New Arrival sounds adorable! I love hedgehogs.

     
  6. Nise' (Under the Boardwalk)

    May 13, 2013 at 5:56 pm

    I was in FL last weekend at my mom’s and she was reading the Jasper Fforde book. Have a great week.

     
  7. Linda Baie

    May 13, 2013 at 8:56 pm

    So glad to hear about And The Mountains Echoed. I too loved The Kite Runner, so great to hear this one is good or better. Thanks for the ideas for other picture books too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
