RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – May 26, 2013

26 May
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

Will you participate in this year’s Read for the Record? I wrote about it here.

I checked out a couple exhibits this past week- one was all about Allen Say and the other was at Powell’s called by Paint by Author by Allison Bruns and Chris Haberman. They each made a portrait of 25 of their mot favorite writers, including these ones of Dr. Seuss.

seuss2

seuss1

Commitment to Literacy= 167 books to be donated

-Don’t Let the Pigeon Drive the Bus! by Mo Willems
-Don’t Let the Pigeon Stay Up Late! by Mo Willems
-A Big Guy Took My Ball! by Mo Willems
-The Pigeon Finds a Hot Dog! by Mo Willems
-The Pigeon Wants a Puppy! by Mo Willems
-The Duckling Gets a Cookie? by Mo Willems
Aside from Oliver Jeffers and Eric Carle, Mo Willems is another author/illustrator whose work I want to read the entirety of. I’ve read a couple of his stand alone picture books and saw him read Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs. I started reading him for my A to Z Picture Book Series Reading Challenge and fell in love with his Elephant & Piggie series. I was glad the latest one A Big Guy Took My Ball! was a return to form because the last few seemed like same-old-same-old stuff. I like recommending him and I can’t believe I hadn’t read of the Pigeon books before. I knew the style but I still enjoyed them tremendously. Mo Willems has truly mastered the style of simple text but not a simplistic story. The Duckling is a great foil for him.

-“Slowly, Slowly, Slowly,” said the Sloth by Eric Carle [*]
-Where Are You Going? To See My Friend! by Eric Carle and Kazuo Iwamura [***- My Pick of the Week]
-Mister Seahorse by Eric Carle [*]
-10 Little Rubber Ducks by Eric Carle [*]
-The Artist Who Painted a Blue Horse [*]
I’m making my way through Eric Carle’s bibliography. He continues to introduce new concepts and/or provide facts in interesting ways. Mister Seahorse is all about how certain male parent in the animal kingdom are the ones who take care of their offspring. I absolutely adored Where Are You Going? To See My Friend! It was so cool how the English and Japanese storylines merged and everything about it symbolized a great message of coming together despite the differences. Each contributor had their own style and I loved Eric Carle drawing in his other characters.

-The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky [***]- I picked up The Perks of Being a Wallflower and I stayed up all night reading it. Charlie was such a refreshing character. I was immediately drawn to him and his predicaments. The storytelling style seemed original too. There were definitely moments that got to me- and they weren’t just the sad parts (I had to stop reading it in public) but the good parts. I felt his happiness, his sense of infinite. But, oddly enough, I didn’t get a sense of oh this is one of my favorite books. It was like When You Reach Me that way. But I’m glad I read it. I’ll definitely recommend it and I can’t wait to watch the movie.

-Otis by Loren Long
-Otis and the Puppy by Loren Long
I picked up these books to prepare for my Read for the Record post. Read my review there.

-The Princess and the Packet of Frozen Peas by Tony Wilson, Illustrated by Sue deGennaro [**]- I picked this book up because our customers seemed so taken by it. I had to see what was catching their interest. It was a cute story of not being your typical princess.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m still reading Dan Brown’s Inferno and hopefully will finish it this week so I can move on to the other novels I’ve started!

Happy Reading!

 

5 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – May 26, 2013

  1. Kathy Martin

    May 27, 2013 at 7:07 am

    I have such a crush on Mo Willems. My students and I love his books. I have also been thinking about reading The Perks of Being a Wallflower for a while but haven’t checked out our library copy yet. Come see my Monday Report. Happy reading!

     
  2. Majanka

    May 27, 2013 at 10:01 am

    You have some great books listed there. Are you enjoying Inferno so far? I’m contemplating buying it. Oh, and hey, fellow children’s book author. 🙂

     
  3. Lorna

    May 27, 2013 at 10:45 am

    So many people I know have recently read and adored The Perks of Being a Wallflower. I need to move it up on the TBR!

     
  4. melissa

    May 27, 2013 at 1:26 pm

    Every day this week, someone has mentioned The Perks of Being a Wallflower to me – I guess it’s a sign I should read it? lol Hope you’re enjoying your holiday! Happy reading!

     
  5. Rose Milligan

    May 28, 2013 at 5:17 pm

    That’s okay. I’m still reading The Host by Stephenie Meyer.

     

Leave a Reply

 
