RSS

Father’s Day Picks

11 Jun
Our Father's Day display (with a rock painting craft project)

Our Father’s Day display (with a rock painting craft project)

Father’s Day is just around the corner and I wanted to take some time to recommend books.

Of course, there will be the usual more common titles on display in bookstores and libraries so I’m going to try and stay away from those but a good book is a good book so these may be on it.

-You Are My I Love You by Maryann Cusimano Love, Illustrated by Satomi Ichikawa- This is more of a traditional pick. Some may find the rhyming text too saccharine but I love the sweetness of the book- from the words and the watercolor illustrations and the relationship between father and son.

-Darth Vader and Son by Jeffrey Brown
-Vader’s Little Princess by Jeffrey Brown
These two titles are big hits in the store. Even someone like me who hasn’t watched any of the Star Wars films found them hilarious. Of course, I’m familiar with most of the story and the relationships between the characters. I’m sure these comics will make for a nice quirky gift.

-Mister Seahorse by Eric Carle- This wonderful book is all about how certain male parents in the animal kingdom are the ones who take care of their offspring. A nice informative book for dads who do everything.

-Knuffle Bunny: A Cautionary Tale by Mo Willems
-Knuffle Bunny Too: A Case of Mistaken Identity by Mo Willems
-Knuffle Bunny Free: An Unexpected Diversion by Mo Willems
I was surprised at it being so emotional. The trajectory of the books- seeing the characters grow (in age and maturity level) in the span of three books- was so unusual for a kids book. It was such a love story between a dad and his daughter. And I thought the illustration style was interesting- cartoon drawings over photographs.

-Daddy, Papa, and Me by Lesléa Newman, Illustrated by Carol Thompson- I think it’s great that kids who have same-sex parents have something they can relate to from the get go. Books are great in making people feel like they aren’t alone in things!

-The Fathers Are Coming Home by Margaret Wise Brown, Illustrated by Stephen Savage – This was a never published work by Margaret Wise Brown about fathers of all sorts coming home. I would say it’s another traditional pick but I just read it recently so I figured I’d include it. Stephen Savage’s illustrations add a wonderful retro and pleasing feel.

What are some books you’d recommend for Father’s Day?

 

Leave a Reply

 
