RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – June 16, 2013

16 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I shared some Father’s Day picks earlier this week.

Commitment to Literacy= 190 books to be donated

-BOOM!: Big, Big Thunder & One Small Dog by Mary Lyn Ray, Illustrated by Steven Salerno [**]- The illustrations immediately caught my eye. This is a pretty cute story.

-Little You by Richard Van Camp, Illustrated by Julie Flett [**]-This is my new favorite baby shower book recommendation! Words and illustrations are perfection!

-The Red Diary: The Re(a)d Diary by Teddy Kristiansen, Iilustrated by Steven T. Seagle [**- My Pick of the Week]- This was a cool idea for a graphic novel. The same art and certain elements were used in each version of the story but then the story is remixed. Art and Identity are the common themes with each one. I guess I can stop saying I don’t usually read graphic novels because I’ve read a rather good amount of them over the years. And a good story is a good story whatever the format or genre.

-Mr. Wuffles! By David Wiesner [**]- I can’t wait until this comes out in October so everyone can enjoy this picture book by David Wiesner. He continues to amaze me with his originality!

-The Story of Fish and Snail by Deborah Freedman [**]- My boss recommended this to me. This is a great picture book about friendship and getting out from your comfort zone.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I think I’ll finally finish Jose Rizal’s Noli Me Tangere this week!

Happy Reading!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – June 16, 2013

  1. Faith Hope & Cherrytea

    June 16, 2013 at 9:05 pm

    getting so excited about kids books again, now that there’s a grandson in the family!
    thanks for all the tips!

     
  2. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    June 16, 2013 at 9:26 pm

    Thank you Earl for being the first one to try the new linky 🙂
    Haven’t read any of these, so thank you for the recommendations 🙂

    Happy reading this week!

     
  3. Linda Baie

    June 16, 2013 at 9:38 pm

    The Red Diary sounds interesting, Earl, and Mr. Wuffles too. I love David Wiesner too, so will bookmark the book till it arrives! Thanks!

     
  4. ponderingbks

    June 16, 2013 at 11:31 pm

    The Red Diary sounds interesting. Hope you have great reading week!

     
  5. Myra GB

    June 17, 2013 at 4:18 am

    David Wiesner is always a favorite. Glad to hear that he has a new awesome picture book! Can’t wait to see if we have it here. 🙂 Thanks for sharing all these, Earl.

     
  6. Maria Selke

    June 17, 2013 at 5:15 am

    Cool! I’ll have to look for that graphic novel. I’ve seen it pop up on a few lists lately.

     
  7. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    June 17, 2013 at 5:32 am

    I had to go check out your Father’s Day display 🙂 Great books!

    I liked your FB page with mine: https://www.facebook.com/TheRelentlessReader

    Have a great week!

     
  8. Erin @Quixotic Magpie

    June 17, 2013 at 6:16 am

    Aww our kids at school love Wiesner! I will have to order that book for our library!

     
  9. Holly Mueller

    June 17, 2013 at 6:51 am

    I’ll have to pick up The Red Diary! I love David Wiesner, so will have to read Mr. Wuffles!

     

Leave a Reply

 
