RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – June 23, 2013

23 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

At the beginning of this year, I shared my Commitment to Literacy. One aspect of which was that for every comment made on this blog, I would donate a book to The Children’s Book Bank. And, when I launched the Facebook page for The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer, I said I would add every time someone likes it to that total. The original timeline was going to be for the entire year but, financially speaking, it wasn’t the soundest decision of my life so I have to cut down the period to six months. The good news is that for every comment on this blog and for every time someone likes the Facebook page until the end of June, I will donate a book to The Children’s Book Bank by the end of the year!

The total so far is 200 books!

I finally finished Noli Me Tangere by Jose Rizal! Read my review here. It’s also My Pick of the Week.

-Sing by Joe Raposo, Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld [**]-What a cute and uplifting picture book rendition of the song. I liked they included the Spanish lyrics to the songs and some notes about the songwriter.

-Joone by Emily Kate Moon [**]-I’m glad I read this book. Now, I have another book to recommend about a girl who’s not your typical girl into pink and princessy stuff (not that there’s anything necessarily wrong with that). I love the relationship between her and her grandfather and the fact that they live in a yurt.

-Duck! Rabbit! by Amy Krouse Rosenthal, Illustrated by Tom Lichtenheld [*]-A very imaginative book about perspective.

-The Shape of My Heart by Mark Sperring, Illustrated by Alys Paterson [**]-I loved this one. Such a sweet message but not too sentimental. Great for summer I think since it’ll be a nice book to have kids focus on the world around them.

-Again! by Emily Gravett [*]-I was disappointed in this one. I can see how this would be cute and fun to some people, though.

-ABCs by Charley Harper [*]
-ABCs (Skinny Edition) by Charley Harper [*]
Every time I saw these board books, I kept wondering what the difference was. Why was one thicker than the other? The skinny edition was mostly just a consolidated version but there were also different images and different animals. I liked the skinny edition better since it had playful elements at the end pages of Charley Harper.

-America the Beautiful: Together We Stand by Katharine Lee Bates, Variosu Illustrators [***]-This is a great book! Ten different illustrators come together to form images using the popular and patriotic song as inspiration. It’s very symbolic of what this country stands for. The complete lyrics are included- as well as some Presidential quotes, information on American landmarks and symbols, and the dust jacket is a poster of all 44 presidents!

-The Watermelon Seed by Greg Pizzoli [*]- This was cute.

-The Day the Crayons Quit by Drew Daywalt, Illustrated by Oliver Jeffers [**]- I was surprised that I liked this one as much as I did. I was kind of disappointed with Oliver Jeffers’s latest books but of course he didn’t write this one so maybe that’s why. This was very imaginative and I did enjoy Oliver Jeffers’s illustrations.

-Oliver and his Alligator by Paul Schmid [**]- I adored this book. I may overuse the word “cute” when describing picture books but this was cute. And yet the humor was kind of dark similar to Jon Klassen. But then I like that kind of stuff.

-Theodore Boone: The Activist by John Grisham [**]- I really enjoy John Grisham’s Theodore Boone. It reminds me of Encyclopedia Brown but grittier. He doesn’t dumb down his writing just because he’s writing for younger people. He’s created a likable and relatable character. Some parts seemed purposely written to manipulate readers’ feelings but I definitely think people should give these books a try.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’ll try and finish Jasper Fforde’s The Woman Who Died A Lot. I also just started reading Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane and I don’t even like him. Plus, I borrowed Bartholomew Biddle and the Very Big Wind from the library.

Happy Reading!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – June 23, 2013

  1. Jo

    June 23, 2013 at 11:24 pm

    I really enjoyed The Watermelon Seed. And I didn’t know Grisham was writing children’s books.

     
  2. Tara

    June 24, 2013 at 2:00 am

    John Grisham’s book looks really interesting. I didn’t know he was writing books for kids either!

     
  3. Julee Murphy

    June 24, 2013 at 6:14 am

    Get ready to donate another book to The Children’s Book Bank because I am leaving a comment! I have a copy of John Grisham’s Theodore Boone audio book “The Abduction” sitting on my desk but it has been sitting here for several weeks waiting for me to get in a mystery mood. One of my goals this coming school year is to build up my mystery genre within my library.

     
  4. Lorna

    June 24, 2013 at 8:54 am

    I can’t wait for THE DAY THE CRAYONS QUIT to come in as a hold at the library. Lots of other new-to-me titles; thanks for sharing and I really admire your commitment to literacy pledge. Lovely! 🙂

     
  5. Linda Baie

    June 24, 2013 at 10:58 am

    I’m not sure if I should leave a comment or not-200 + books! You should be so happy about this, & those who benefit should be so grateful! I liked hearing about those picture books toward the beginning of your list, Earl. They sound, well, ‘cute’! I will definitely look for them at my library, plus The Day The Crayons Quit. It’s getting a lot of talk, isn’t it? Thanks Earl!

     
  6. Myra GB

    June 24, 2013 at 12:01 pm

    I didn’t realize that John Grisham also writes for young adults! What a good thing to know. I shall look for the title you shared. And The Day the Crayons Quit sounds like something I’d enjoy. 🙂

     
  7. Ricki Ginsberg

    June 24, 2013 at 7:27 pm

    I love your rating system. It makes it easy for me, a reader who isn’t as well-versed in the younger books (YET! I have a baby on the way.) Happy reading this week!

     
  8. Crystal (@librarygrl2)

    June 24, 2013 at 9:34 pm

    I am going to attempt to read Noli at some point. I had only heard of it about a month ago, but it sounds interesting. ave a great week.

     

Leave a Reply

 
