RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – June 30, 2013

30 Jun
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

“Writing a blog focusing on children’s literature isn’t exactly an original concept but that just means I’m in a large company of people who share this one passion. This community of readers is a great source of finding out great- or, not so great- books. A cool way that recommendations are getting shared is through the meme “It’s Monday! What Are You Reading?” started by Book Journey blogger, Sheila, and kid-lit-focus-ified by Jen and Kellee of Teach Mentor Texts. The format is simple. Review the books you’ve finished reading the prior week and share the titles of what you’re planning on reading next.”June 25, 2012

I just realized that it was about a year ago that I first participated in #IMWAYR.

And, I can’t believe it’s the end of June already! As I previously mentioned, I will donate a book to The Children’s Book Bank by the end of the year for every comment on this blog and for every time someone likes the Facebook page. Since most people read other bloggers’ IMWAYR posts on Mondays and Tuesdays, I will include however many comments I get on this post in the final tally.

Commitment to Literacy= 214 books to be donated

There's still time to celebrate Pride Month with these great books! One is about a boy who runs away from home to audition for a musical. One is based on real-life events that happened in the Central Park Zoo. One is a great coming of age novel that will make you glad there are books that introduce you to different kinds of people or that help you feel you're not alone.

There’s still time to celebrate Pride Month with these great books! One is about a boy who runs away from home to audition for a musical. One is based on real-life events that happened in the Central Park Zoo. One is a great coming of age novel that will make you glad there are books that introduce you to different kinds of people or that help you feel you’re not alone.

I participated in Unleashing Readers Launch Week Blog Hop.

I finally finished Jasper Fforde’s The Woman Who Died A Lot. I’ll write a review later on but it’s My Pick of the Week.

-When Lions Roar by Robie H. Harris, Illustrated by Chris Raschka (Sep 24, 2013)- I liked the title. This is about when the world gets too scary for a child and how to deal with the fear and anxiety.

-How Do Dinosaurs Say I’m Mad? by Jane Yolen, Illustrated by Mark Teague (Sep 24, 2013)- Another entry in the series about what dinosaurs should and shouldn’t do when they’re mad or frustrated.

-Year of the Jungle by Suzanne Collins, Illustrated by James Proimos (Sep 10, 2013)- This picture book was interesting- based on her own childhood when her father fought in the Vietnam War. It wasn’t boring as I thought it would be when I first heard about it.

-Big Little Brother by Kevin Kling, Illustrated by Chris Monroe [***]- I heard some customers talk about this book. I absolutely adored it. What unique characters! And so funny! I would pair this with Chris Van Allsbur’s Zathura. I’m already looking forward to Big Little Mother, available November 1st.

-Melvin: The Luckiest Monkey in the World by Claudia Boldt [*]- This was one of those cute picture books. Reminiscent of Mo Willems’ Elephant and Piggie stories.

-Rainbow Fish by Marcus Pfister [*]- This is a favorite with many of our customers. It was rather unmemorable to me, though. I can see how kids will think this is a cool book because of the shimmering foil-scales element to the illustrations.

-Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli [*]-If you liked Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli, please tell me why. I just finished it, after having it recommended to me by others, and I still don’t know what to feel and therefore why people would think I’d like it. Maybe my expectations were set too high. I really don’t like characters who are special snowflakes. Maybe I’ve become too jaded or cynical in my old age and have a hard time telling whether a person’s quirks are naturally themselves or a planned personality makeover.

– Thank You, Mr. Falker by Patricia Polacco [**]- Patricia Polacco introduces us to Mr. Falker, based on a teacher she had growing up who helped her with her reading difficulties. Inspiring for anyone overcoming obstacles and determined to not give up! Thank You, Mr. Falker is a touching tribute to teachers!

librarymouse
-Library Mouse by Daniel Kirk [**]- Sam the Mouse lives in the library. He loves books so much that he decides to become a writer. His books become popular and everyone wants to meet him. I enjoyed how he solved that particular problem. Cute and creative!

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading Neil Gaiman’s The Ocean at the End of the Lane and I’ll probably finish that this week. I also got my library requests for Anne Ursu’s Breadcrumbs (while I wait to get a copy of The Real Boy) and John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines.

Share your #IMWAYR link below and share what you’ve read and what you’ll be reading!

Have a great week!

 

9 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – June 30, 2013

  1. Jen Vincent (@mentortexts)

    June 30, 2013 at 11:42 pm

    Hi Earl! Sorry we didn’t have the linky up when you came by but I added your link to the linky after I added it – just an FYI. 🙂 You are always so quick to link up! I love it.

    I’ve heard a lot about Suzanne Collins’ picture book! My dad is a Vietnam veteran, I wasn’t born until after, but it still impacted my childhood as my dad has post-traumatic stress disorder and wasn’t diagnosed or getting support until I was in college. I’m so intrigued and can’t wait to read it.

    AND, I love Stargirl! Stargirl is one of my all-time favorite books. I’ve read it a few times now and I learn so much more about her every time I read. Yes, she’s a free spirit and very unique but she does still deal with strong, raw emotions. I think that while Leo is one character in the book, he represents so much more. It’s not easy for a person to fit in when he or she is so different. I think many people are afraid of what is different and foreign. I’m taking a class on young adolescent development right now and I think Jerry Spinelli captures young adolescence so well with Leo. I also read Stargirl when it first came out and I think she was more “new” then compared to now and other books/movies have similar characters now. Just my two cents…

     
  2. Lexxie

    July 1, 2013 at 1:46 am

    Wow, you are giving away a lot of books to the library 🙂 That’s really awesome. I don’t read children’s books very much, and when I do, I need them in French so my children can read, too.

    Here’s my IMWAYR post for today. Happy reading.

     
  3. bluestockingthinking

    July 1, 2013 at 2:15 am

    I too am very interested in reading Suzanne Collins’ picture book. My father is also a Vietnam veteran, with stories to tell that I think just can’t be real…or maybe hope can’t be real. Glad you shared, I’ve jotted it down so I can grab a copy in September!

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    July 1, 2013 at 4:39 am

    Love the pride month image… Glad I’m not the only one a little less than enamored with Rainbow Fish… I like that others enjoy it though! Many teachers use it at the beginning of the school year… Shall watch for When Lions Roar… Happy reading week to you!

     
  5. Holly Mueller

    July 1, 2013 at 7:12 am

    Ahh! I accidentally deleted your comment this morning on my blog, and now I can’t get it back. Sorry!! I really did read it and appreciated it! I’m looking forward to reading Year of the Jungle. I LOVED Stargirl. The ending just got me. Happy reading! 🙂

     
  6. Linda Baie

    July 1, 2013 at 8:34 am

    Happy to hear about Big Little Brother-will find it! Thanks for all your reviews of the others, too. I’ve found Stargirl to be a good one for lit groups with the middle school kids. There is much to consider about the way she is treated and the tough challenges of befriending someone who is too ‘different’. I can see what you mean about someone ‘special’, maybe she is painted too much to be real by Spinelli, yet there are those blithe spirits out there who want to be loved too, in all their differences. Middle Schoolers, if nothing else, need to know they don’t have to be like everyone else. That is why the book is a great one for good talks!

     
  7. novalibrarymom

    July 1, 2013 at 10:57 am

    Have you read Polacco’s The Art of Miss Chew? Similar theme to Mr. Falker, but semi-autobiographical and more about her inspiration to draw rather than write. I always enjoy that look behind the scenes at what makes a writer/illustrator tick.

    Have a good week!

     
  8. Ricki Ginsberg

    July 2, 2013 at 1:25 pm

    I actually haven’t ever read Stargirl because my students have such polarizing views. I am afraid to hate it. I suppose that isn’t a reason not to read it though, right?…

     
    • Earl

      July 2, 2013 at 1:46 pm

      If anything, that would make me want to read a book more! I’ve enjoyed reading other people’s comments as to why they liked the book!

       

Leave a Reply

 
