RSS

What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – July 7, 2013

07 Jul
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This is my 50th #IMWAYR post!

It was a pretty busy week here on the blog.

I wrote about libraries I’ve recently visited, a library celebration we recently had here in Portland (Oregon), and reviews of books taking place in libraries.

FlashbackFriday


I also created a list of all the libraries I’ve visited since moving to Portland a little over five years ago.


I started a new meme- #FlashbackFriday- and talked about my Commitment to Literacy and how many books I’ll end up donating.

I also shared how Max, the character for the picture book I’m eventually going to write, looks like on Facebook. I’m feeling creative again!

-Unicorn Thinks He’s Pretty Great by Bob Shea [*]- Cute and funny.

-The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman [**- My Pick of the Week]- Finally a Neil Gaiman book I didn’t hate! The Ocean at the End of the Lane is wonderfully weird and deliciously dark. I actually wanted more of this world he created with its unique characters and situations that will keep you turning the pages to see how they turn up.

-Puffin Peter by Petr Horacek [*]- This is another one of those cute picture books. Deals with friendship and different kinds of birds.

-Library Mouse: A Friend’s Tale by Daniel Kirk [**]
-Library Mouse: A World to Explore by Daniel Kirk [*]
I’ve enjoyed the Library Mouse books so much! A Friend’s Tale was particularly good because not only does it tackle the topic of friendship (as does A World to Explore) but also the collaborative efforts between writers and illustrators. In the background, you’ll see some beloved children’s books prominently featured!

-I’m The Biggest Thing in the Ocean by Kevin Sherry [*]- Another darkish picture book along the same lines of Jon Klassen’s books.

-Never Ever by Jo Empson [**]- This picture book made me loud out loud! Great illustrations with a cute surprise at the end.

-The Very Big Carrot by Satoe Tone [*]- A cute picture book that could have been executed better.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading John Green’s An Abundance of Katherines. I may also start The World’s Strongest Librarian.

Have a great week! Happy Reading!

 

12 responses to “What Are You Reading? #IMWAYR – July 7, 2013

  1. Erin @Quixotic Magpie

    July 7, 2013 at 8:20 pm

    Ooo deliciously dark..I can’t wait to read that book!

     
  2. Myra GB

    July 7, 2013 at 10:20 pm

    I am very intrigued by Ocean at the End of the Lane! Seems like most everyone has read it and enjoyed it. I bought my own copy yesterday and looking forward to reading it during my ‘holiday’ in the coming weeks. 🙂

     
  3. Jo

    July 7, 2013 at 10:36 pm

    I loved the first Library Mouse but haven’t read any of the others yet. Note to self: I need to do that…

     
  4. The Styling Librarian

    July 7, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    Eager to read Ocean at the End of the Lane… glad to know you enjoyed it… although I did like other Gaiman stories, especially The Graveyard Book…

     
  5. Tara

    July 8, 2013 at 6:03 am

    Just loved your library post…but then I am a big believer in public libraries everywhere…especially ones that look as friendly and happy as the one in your post! I’ll have to tackle Gaiman this summer, since my students love him – I guess I’ll start with the one you enjoyed.

     
  6. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    July 8, 2013 at 6:35 am

    I’m glad to hear that you’re feeling creative, that’s the best! 😀

     
  7. Linda Baie

    July 8, 2013 at 6:42 am

    Neil Gaiman was here in Denver and the news said he stayed until the wee hours signing his book, over 1,000 people! What a gracious person! I think I’ll have to get the book, Earl. And I’m looking for the Library Mouse books since you recommend them so much. I also went back and read about your retro post. What a wonderful thing you did with all the donations! And, congrats on your 50th IMWAYR! Lots of good things going on!

     
  8. Kathy Martin

    July 8, 2013 at 7:11 am

    I’m glad you liked this Gaiman book. I haven’t found one I liked yet but haven’t tried this one. Also, I have only read the first Library Mouse book. My Monday Report is here. Happy reading!

     
  9. Hannahlily

    July 8, 2013 at 7:29 am

    Congrats on your 50th #IMWAYR post! I am super excited to read the Gaiman. I haven’t read any of his adult books, but love his stuff for kids!

     
  10. Holly Mueller

    July 8, 2013 at 7:54 am

    I’ve heard lots about the new Gaiman book! That’s amazing that you’ve done 50 #IMWAYR posts! I haven’t seen I’m the Biggest Thing in the Ocean. Will have to check that out! I have An Abundance of Katherines in my library pile. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my blog this morning! Happy reading!

     
  11. Elizabeth

    July 8, 2013 at 8:10 am

    Great post. Thanks.

    Enjoy your week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    http://silversolara.blogspot.com/2013/07/its-monday-what-are-you-reading-7813.html

     
  12. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 8, 2013 at 4:57 pm

    OH man, you’ve hated ever Gaiman book you’ve read 😦 So sad. Try Coraline or Graveyard Book on audio – they are quite enjoyable 🙂 Looking forward to reading his new one.

    Thank you so much for participating in IMWAYR and happy reading this week 🙂
    Kellee (http://www.unleashingreaders.com)

     

Leave a Reply

 
