RSS

What Are You Reading? (51) #IMWAYR – July 14, 2013

14 Jul
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I went to another Little Free Library this week and I wrote about how LFL’s make for a good summer time activity.

I also created a list of all the libraries I’ve visited since moving to Portland a little over five years ago.

Green Bean Books– the children’s bookstore I work in- celebrated its 4th birthday and it was my #FlashbackFriday topic.

And we had Rosanne Parry come in to talk about her latest book Written in Stone and there was even a soap carving activity!

-Yoko by Rosemary Wells [**]
-Yoko Writes Her Name by Rosemary Wells [*]
-Yoko’s Paper Cranes by Rosemary Wells [**]
Yoko and the situations she finds herself in fascinate me. I guess I enjoy the glimpse of another culture through her experiences.

-An Abundance of Katherines by John Green [**]- This is another book which I enjoyed reading but for some reason I wasn’t particularly crazy about after finishing it. For most of the time, I enjoyed how smart and fresh everything was. Afterwards, I felt it was trying too hard. It was like the way the teenagers on Dawson’s Creek talked. If any of you know what that means or understands what I’m trying to say, please let me know!

-Library Mouse: A Museum Adventure by Daniel Kirk [*]- This was sort of a cheesy (no pun intended) addition to the series but it was still cute.

-Explorer: The Mystery Boxes by Kazu Kibuishi and Various Other Writers and Illustrators [*]- I don’t really know why I picked this graphic novel up. I guess I wanted to sample the different styles but most of the stories were disappointing.

-Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein [***- My Pick of the Week]- Wonderfully entertaining! I can’t wait to recommend it to our young readers! It’s perfect for fans of The Westing Game and The Mysterious Benedict Society. I love that avid readers can get more out of the book but everyone can enjoy it. And the extra puzzle was fun. I can’t wait to see if they figure it out!

lemon

-The Boy Who Loved Math by Deborah Heiligman; Illustrated by LeUyen Pham [***]- This is truly a 1derful book about a 1 of a kind man who shared his passion with the world. Even if you’re not a math head, you will enjoy learning about Paul Erdos. The illustrations were filled with fun math stuff which are explained in the back of the book.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading Eleanor & Park because apparently everyone else is- or already has. So far, so good. I’ve seen it mentioned here and there but luckily my memory’s kind of wonky and I’m trying to avoid reviews. I feel like this book will make me sad. Is this another YA book where someone dies or gets seriously injured? Tell me. No, don’t tell me.

Have a great week! Happy Reading!

 

13 responses to “What Are You Reading? (51) #IMWAYR – July 14, 2013

  1. RAnn

    July 14, 2013 at 10:00 pm

    Those Little Free Librarys are such a good idea!

     
  2. The Styling Librarian

    July 14, 2013 at 10:45 pm

    I’m 4th in line for the audiobook of Eleanor and Park, can’t wait to get it! Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library– thank you, I put it on order!! Hip hooray to Rosanne Parry’s visit! Happy reading week to you…

     
  3. Linda Baie

    July 14, 2013 at 10:50 pm

    Loved eleanor & park and The Boy Who Loved Math, and thanks for the heads up for Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library-sounds good. It’s not easy to find mysteries that work for this age. Thanks for all the other mentions, too, Earl! Happy Birthday to Green Bean Books!

     
  4. readerbuzz

    July 15, 2013 at 4:04 am

    Eleanor & Park is touching, but, rest assured, no big death-of-major-character scene.

    Here’s my It’s Monday. Love to have you stop by!

     
  5. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    July 15, 2013 at 5:01 am

    I love your assessment of An Abundance of Katherines. I absolutely know what you are talking about with the Dawson’s Creek reference and I completely agree. I had not heard of Mr. Lemoncello’s Library or The Boy Who Loved Math, but both sound fabulous. Have a great reading week!

     
  6. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    July 15, 2013 at 5:21 am

    I haven’t read Katherines… I’m behind the bandwagon on the Green books (though I love his vlogbrothers and nerdfighters work). I have The Boy Who Loved Math on my must read pile – glad to hear that you enjoyed it!

    I loved eleanor & park – and it’s not my typical style book.

    I did like Explorer: Mystery Boxes – but I also used it to help model the idea of an anthology to a group of students who adore graphic novels, so maybe that helped 🙂

     
  7. Majanka

    July 15, 2013 at 5:30 am

    I like the sound of The Boy Who Loved Math. Enjoy your reads!

    Take a look at what I’m reading this week!

     
  8. Holly Mueller

    July 15, 2013 at 7:22 am

    I just bought Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library and look forward to reading it!

     
  9. Kathy Martin

    July 15, 2013 at 7:30 am

    Nice assortment of books. Come see what I read last week at Inside of a Dog. Happy reading!

     
  10. reshamad

    July 15, 2013 at 9:31 am

    Have put “The Boy who loved math” on hold because DD loves working with numbers. Cant wait to read it. Good lineup of books.
    -Reshama

     
  11. Rose Milligan

    July 15, 2013 at 11:59 am

    Enjoy your books this week. I finished What the Spell? by Brittany Geragotelis (4/5 stars) last week. This week I’m reading Solaris by Stanislaw Lem, Fields of Elysium by A.B. Whelan, and OCD Love Story by Corey Ann Haydu.

     
  12. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 15, 2013 at 6:18 pm

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy Katherines and Explorer as much as me – I loved them both – but I see where you are coming from 🙂

    Happy reading this week 🙂

     
  13. Elizabeth

    July 16, 2013 at 9:58 am

    Enjoy your week.

    Elizabeth
    Silver’s Reviews
    My It’s Monday, What Are You Reading

     

Leave a Reply

 
