RSS

#FlashbackFriday (3)- Reading Challenges Update

19 Jul
Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

“I love a good reading challenge.

One of the firsts I started for myself was the A to Z Picture Book Series Challenge in 2011. I’ve been introduced to great authors and characters that I just adore. This has also been a fun way to talk to others and ask for recommendations.

I also did a Happiness Reading Challenge in 2011 in which I read one book with “happiness” as part of its title for each season that year. This was just to help me stay motivated and inspired throughout the year as I worked on my goals.

I took on a couple of reading challenges in 2012. I had also initially wanted to do the Newbery Challenge but I wouldn’t have had time to read the books I wanted to read!

With the Dr. Seuss reading challenge, I gained so much respect and admiration for the man now that I’ve actually read his books. I now truly understand why he is such a literary legend!

Because of the Caldecott reading challenge, I developed a greater appreciation of the pictures in picture books- and the illustrators responsible for them. In some instances, the pictures were the only good thing about the stories. Some were truly works of art.
This year, I’ve decided to participate in Gathering Books’ Award Winning Books Reading Challenge. I’m going for the Platinum Award of reading over 35 qualifying titles!

And, I want to read all of Eric Carle’s books to fully appreciate them. Other writers I’ll be reading include Mo Willems and Oliver Jeffers but there’s no timeline with these two.

I also want to tackle my bookshelf, to read the books I’ve bought but haven’t read!”

-excerpt, January 31, 2013

I managed to read all the Eric Carle books I could find. Book reviews can be found on my #IMWAYR posts using the search terms “Eric Carle.” He is definitely up there with Dr. Seuss as an important figure in children’s literature.

I’ve always been a fan of Mo Willems so I don’t really feel like I have to read all of his books. I recommend him often to our customers. I’m glad I did finally read his Pigeon and Knuffle Bunny series this year though!

I did read all the books Oliver Jeffers has written and I wrote about him here. Plus, “The Day the Crayons Quit” (written by Drew Daywalt) is my go-to recommendation lately.

I hadn’t kept up with the Award Winning Books Reading Challenge. I don’t know why it’s been so difficult for me to check if a book had won an award. And I really don’t want to go back over my list of books read this year in order to catch up so I’m going to give up on that.

The weird thing is I’ve decided to tackle on a couple more reading challenge despite that fact. The first is Off the Shelf hosted by Bookish Ardour. I want to read all the books I’ve bought (or received) because it just seems like a waste to buy a book and not read it! I’ve got about 15 books to read through so that puts me on the Trying level. I’m hoping to finish them by the end of this year.

off-the-shelf-2013-badge

The second challenge is to read all of Multnomah County Library’s Everybody Reads selections. This is their community wide reading project similar to “One City, One Book” or “The Big Read.” There are 13 titles, including the 2014 selection and I’ve already read 7 of them and 2 are also part of Off the Shelf. My goal is to read the rest by February. Here is the list with asterisks after the ones I’ve read.

-A Lesson before Dying by Ernest J. Gaines
-Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury *
-The House on Mango Street by Sandra Cisneros *
-The Kite Runner by Khaled Hosseini *
-Midnight at the Dragon Cafe by Judy Fong Bates
-A Long Way Gone by Ismael Beah *
-Stubborn Twig by Lauren Kessler
-The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson
-The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore
-The Girl Who Fell from the Sky by Heidi W. Durrow *
-Ten Little Indians by Sherman Alexie *
-The Absolutely True Diary of A Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexie *
-My Beloved World by Sonia Sotomayor

What are your Reading Challenges?

 

One response to “#FlashbackFriday (3)- Reading Challenges Update

Leave a Reply

 
