RSS

What Are You Reading? (53) #IMWAYR – July 28, 2013

28 Jul
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

I celebrated one year working at Green Bean Books. It’s been a great experience being part of a wonderful, magical place and connecting with readers!

I captured this great picture of some kids reading!

I captured this great picture of some kids reading!

For #FlashbackFriday, I shared part of a letter I wrote to my friend about my fear of going back to school. I’ve been considering taking classes again to become a teacher.

-Count the Monkeys by Mac Barnett, Illustrated by Kevin Cornell [**]- I’ve got to admit that I’m not a big fan of Mac Barnett even though I think his books are very creative. So I was surprised to like this one.

-God’s Dream by Archbishop Desmond Tutu and Douglas Carlton Abrams, Illustrated by LeUyen Pham [**]- I wouldn’t call myself religious but I’m also not one to stay away from something just because it is like this book, especially when the message is all about one-ness.

-Mindful Monkey, Happy Panda by Lauren Alderfer, Illustrated by Kerry Lee MacLean [**]- Mindfulness is introduced to younger readers in this interesting picture book.

-Toucan Toucan’t by Peter Francis-Browne, Illustrated by Rita Gianetti [**]- This was a fun find while volunteering at the Children’s Book Bank. Loved the wordplay even if some of them didn’t really make sense. “A toucan tango, but a toucan’t share a potty!”

-A Year with Marmalade by Alison Reynolds, Illustrated by Heath McKenzie [*]- Two girls and a cat and the changing seasons help tell the story of changes and friendship old and new.

-Some Monsters Are Different by David Milgrim [*]- Cute picture book about accepting and celebrating one’s differences.

-Breadcrumbs by Anne Ursu, Illustrated by Erin McGuire [*]- I was rather disappointed with this book. Maybe I had too high expectations after hearing other people talk about it? I appreciated all the references to other fairy tales and I liked how diverse and realistic the characters were. But I felt the story started off too slow and all the interesting parts were rushed over. I’m really surprised at how low of a rating I’m giving Breadcrumbs but can’t wait to read The Real Boy.

-Read Me a Story, Stella by Marie-Louise Gay [**- My Pick of the Week]- I loved this book! The brother-sister relationship between Sam and Stella is so strong and realistic and wonderful to behold.

-Once Upon a Banana by Jennifer Armstrong, Illustrated by David Small [*]- This was pretty funny. Almost wordless except for the street signs that adds another level of humor to the story.

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading I’d Like to Apologize to Every Teacher I Ever Had by Tony Danza and, for my reading challenge, The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore.

Have a great reading week!

 

8 responses to “What Are You Reading? (53) #IMWAYR – July 28, 2013

  1. Tara

    July 29, 2013 at 5:39 am

    I have a feeling that you would make a wonderful teacher…so keep us up to date! Sorry that you did not like Breadcrumbs, though – it took a bit to get into this story, but I did grow to love the book.

     
  2. Lorna

    July 29, 2013 at 6:26 am

    Do keep us posted on your back-to-school plans! I too didn’t love Breadcrumbs as much as others, in part because I’m not drawn to fantasy titles as much. I agree that the slow start will make it hard for some readers. I am curious like you, though, to read The Real Boy.

     
  3. msyingling

    July 29, 2013 at 7:50 am

    Ursu’s Shadow Thieves had more adventure, and its been popular, but unless readers REALLY like fantasy, Breadcrumbs and The Real Boy are a bit harder to get into. In middle grade books, snappy beginnings and action rarely go wrong!

     
  4. Kristen H. (@bookgoil)

    July 29, 2013 at 8:54 am

    Congrats on your one year! Hope you will have many more! I enjoyed Breadcrumbs, but had a bit less expectations than you possibly. I’m looking forward to The Real Boy by her.

    Here’s what we’re reading

     
  5. Maria Selke (@mselke01)

    July 29, 2013 at 10:39 am

    I enjoyed Breadcrumbs – but I can totally see your point. It was almost a nostalgia read for me. I loved The Real Boy even more – it’s like her writing style continued to bloom. I have The Shadow Thieves on my pile(s)…

     
  6. Kellee Moye (@kelleemoye)

    July 29, 2013 at 5:37 pm

    I agree with Maria- I can see your point of view about Breadcrumbs, but I loved it. Anne Ursu’s writing is magical. I cannot wait to read Real Boy 🙂

    Happy reading this week 🙂
    Kellee
    http://www.unleashingreaders.com

     
  7. Myra GB

    July 29, 2013 at 6:28 pm

    Hi there Earl, good luck on your journeys on becoming a teacher. I haven’t read Breadcrumbs yet, but I’m intrigued by your review. Unlike you, I am a fan of Mac Barnett so I will look for Count the Monkeys. Read me a story Stella also sounds nice. Have a great reading week ahead of you! 🙂

     
  8. The Styling Librarian

    July 30, 2013 at 9:37 pm

    Sorry you didn’t enjoy Breadcrumbs, I loved both- Real Boy and Breadcrumbs… 🙂 I didn’t know about Mac Barnett’s book Count the Monkeys, thanks! 🙂 I’ve been curious about Tony Danza’s work so shall look forward to your next post! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
