RSS

What Are You Reading? (55) #IMWAYR – August 11, 2013

11 Aug
Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks to Book Journey for starting this whole thing!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Thanks also to Teach Mentor Texts and Unleashing Readers for their focus on Children’s Literature of this meme!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children's Book Writer Facebook page!

Please like The Chronicles Of A Children’s Book Writer Facebook page!

If you’re on Twitter, don’t forget to use the hashtag #IMWAYR when sharing your link!

This week, I posted:
New Releases for August 6th– Some great picture books!
Flashback Friday: Little Free Library Hopping

I attended a great talk about Mary Frances Isom who was Multnomah County Library’s first female librarian. I was inspired by her passion and dedication. I love this quote from her that was shared:

“We have learned that vision and imagination are priceless qualities for librarians to possess, vision to look into the future and picture the possibilities, imagination to determine the essentials…Most librarians hampered by small funds, swamped with trifling details, burdened by petty economies, are too timid. We have not been accustomed to meet life in the large, we hesitate to stray from the neat footpath into the open field. Have we not learned to plunge a little, to take a chance or two, to bank on
the future? Only he who dares wears the laurel, only he who spends acquires.”

-Journey by Aaron Becker [**]
-Ike’s Incredible Ink by Brianne Farley [**]
-Dinosaur Kisses by David Ezra Stein [**]
Read my reviews for these new releases here.

-The Other Wes Moore by Wes Moore [**- My Pick of the Week]- An eye-opening book about the choices we make in life. Although, admittedly, at times, we may not know what other choices we have. It’s easy to judge others and their situations but, unless we put ourselves in their shoes, we really can’t know why they did what they did. [Everybody Reads Reading Challenge. Off the Shelf Reading Challenge.]

off-the-shelf-2013-badge

-Otter and Odder by James Howe, Illustrated by Chris Raschka [*]- Some people may find things in this picture book that they’ll enjoy but I didn’t like it at all. This is the second book I’ve seen illustrated by Chris Raschka in which I wasn’t amused.

-Ollie’s Halloween by Olivier Dunrea [*]- Another cute addition to the series featuring the goslings.

-Alphablock by Christopher Franceschell, Illustrated by Peskimo [**]- Love the art and design of this board book!

-The Story of Ferdinand by Munro Leaf [**]
-The Little Engine that Could by Watty Piper [**]
-Corduroy by Don Freeman [**]
I can’t believe I hadn’t read these books until now but I decided to read them to have read all the Read for the Record selections. Of course, I knew about each of these. After reading each one, I can tell why they are so beloved. As good as picture books are these days, there’s just something about these classics that have an extra something element that makes them so special.

-Fairy Tale Comics by Various Authors and Chris Duffy- Release date: September 24, 2013, Review soon

Rating Scale
*= It was OK
**= Liked it
***= Recommended
****= Highly Recommended
*****= Favorite

I’m reading two books by Christopher Pike for my Reading Challenges. I also went to the library with the intention of reading some of Pablo Neruda’s poetry but ended up checking out This Is a Book by Demetri Martin instead.

Have a great reading week!

 

6 responses to “What Are You Reading? (55) #IMWAYR – August 11, 2013

  1. Natalie Dias Lorenzi @Biblio Links

    August 12, 2013 at 2:40 am

    I adore Ferdinand–I’m glad you’ve finally met him. 🙂 The fact that the illustrations are so simple really makes you focus on the book’s message. So lovely.

    Thanks also for the quote from Mary Frances Isom–I was surprised that being the first female librarian was a notable thing, as I think 90% of librarians out there today are female. Thanks for sharing!

     
  2. Myra GB

    August 12, 2013 at 2:58 am

    I know what you mean about children’s classics. Ferdinand is just a personal favourite. Such a strong and gentle bull – so many layers there. So simple too but just starkly beautiful. Sad to hear you don’t enjoy Chris Raschka’s books – he has so many good ones.

     
  3. readerbuzz

    August 12, 2013 at 3:50 am

    Inspiring! Thank you for sharing this quote.

    Do you know about our 1001 Children’s Books You Must Read online book group? You might like to join us there.

    Here’s my What Are You Reading?!

     
  4. Linda Baie

    August 12, 2013 at 8:20 am

    I put Journey on my wish list Earl-it looks like one to enjoy for sure. Glad to hear you enjoyed those classics. As I said on FB, still reading & loving them with my grandkids. Thanks for all the reviews!

     
  5. Andrea Payan (@payanar)

    August 12, 2013 at 9:22 am

    Thanks for the reminder about Read for the Record and the link. I have had The Other Wes Moore on my to-read list for awhile. Maybe it is time to move it up to the top of the list. Have a great reading week.

     
  6. Ricki Ginsberg

    August 12, 2013 at 12:39 pm

    Hi, Earl!

    It seems like you read a lot of books this week but none were strong favorites. It was great to read all of your reviews, so thanks for sharing! I hope you have a great reading week this week!

    🙂 Ricki

     

Leave a Reply

 
