RSS

#FlashbackFriday (7)- Max

16 Aug

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.

Every Friday, I will “flashback” to an older journal entry or post pertaining to books, reading or writing. I will then write a short follow-up to it.



What have I learned these past few weeks?

This class gave me a reason to actually write. On a weekly basis, even if it was for a short while, I was surrounded by talented and creative people. I didn’t want to be the only one who didn’t at least try to get something down on paper. So I forced myself to write- or to stare at a blank page with the intention of writing, even if the words didn’t come.

Even without the Muse whispering in my ear, this act of sitting down for the sole purpose of writing- if done regularly- should generate some ideas, some sort of spark within. I found it worked for me.

This class has given me a bit of confidence as well.

I mentioned how I wanted to be a children’s book writer and how literacy was something I really believed in. I introduced them to Max. One thing that stuck out was how they were actually listening.

This was a safe place to share ideas. Of course, there are stories I’m still keeping to myself but only because they aren’t ready yet. The characters in my head are still forming, figuring out who they’ll be in the landscape of my imagination.

-Summer 2011

I was going over old journals trying to consolidate all my story ideas and came across this undated entry about having taken a creating writing class.

I also came across some sketches of Max, the character for my picture book, and it was interesting to see how much he’s changed (and stayed the same!) over the years.

MAX1

 

Leave a Reply

 
